You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Back-to-back premiers the Brisbane Broncos are the Warriors’ first opponents when the 2020 NRLW premiership kicks off this week.

The four NRLW teams feature in a triple header alongside the NRL play-off between the fifth-placed Canberra Raiders and the eighth-ranked Cronulla Sutherland Sharks at GIO Stadium in Canberra on Saturday.

The Warriors’ clash against the Broncos is the second of the two first-round NRLW matches kicking off at 3.00pm (6.00pm NZT).

When the two teams last met the Warriors held on for a stunning 10-8 upset win, becoming the first and only team to hand the 2018-2019 premiership-winning Broncos a loss in eight outings in the competition.

Despite the victory the Warriors missed out on the grand final on points for and against, St George Illawarra advancing to the decider where they were on the end of a 6-30 defeat by the Broncos. 

In the first NRLW match next Saturday the Sydney Roosters face the Dragons (11.30am kick-off local time, 2.30pm NZT).

The last game on the triple header bill between the Raiders and the Sharks kicks off at 5.40pm (8.40pm NZT).

Minor premiers the Penrith Panthers will kick off the NRL finals against last year’s premiers the Sydney Roosters at Panthers Stadium on Friday night.

The Panthers have now won 15 consecutive matches and boast the best winning record since St George in 1959.

NRL chief executive Andrew Abdo said the success of rule changes this season had set the scene for the fastest, most free flowing and unpredictable finals series in recent years.

“Last year Penrith missed the top eight, this year they’re the minor Premiers. Last week the Rabbitohs were beaten by the Bulldogs, this week they trounced the Roosters. The competition is uncompromising and after 18 uninterrupted rounds, the top eight teams face off in an exciting set of games in week one of the finals,’’ he said.

“This has been a tough year and you can sense it means more to our players given how much they have had to sacrifice to make the season happen. During finals, the speed and intensity goes up a level, and you can feel the excitement and anticipation among our fans.”

Finals series tickets will be on sale to general public at 10am on Tuesday (September 29) at

All matches for Week One of the NRL Telstra Premiership 2020 Finals Series and the NRL Telstra Women’s Premiership will be broadcast live on the Nine Network, Fox League, Kayo Sports, SKY NZ and on NRL Live Pass.


Qualifying Final: Friday, October 2, 7.50pm (EST), Panthers Stadium

Penrith Panthers (1) v Sydney Roosters (4)


Elimination Final:  Saturday, October 3, 5.40pm (EST), GIO Stadium

Canberra Raiders (5) v Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks (8)

NRLW:  Brisbane Broncos v Warriors, 3.00pm (EST)

NRLW:  Sydney Roosters v St George Illawarra Dragons, 11.30am (EST)


Qualifying Final: Saturday, October 3, 7.50pm (EST), Suncorp Stadium

Melbourne Storm (2) v Parramatta Eels (3)


Elimination Final: Sunday, October 4, 4.05pm (EDT), ANZ Stadium

South Sydney Rabbitohs (6) v Newcastle Knights (7)

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners