You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

With the fullback and hooker positions decided, the focus switches to the search for the best second rowers in the People's Choice 20th Anniversary Team poll.

This is the chance for all members past and present and fans at large to have their say on who they think are the club’s best players.

First up was the fullback position with Brent Webb narrowly edging out Wade McKinnon.

The club’s best hooker as voted by the fans was P J Marsh, who finished clear of Monty Betham and Nathan Friend.

Now it’s the second rowers and there’s a quality list of contenders. Among them are six former Kiwis, one them ex-Kiwi captain and current Kiwi coach Stephen Kearney, as well as present Kiwi and Vodafone Warriors captain Simon Mannering. The eighth player is another 1995 foundation player Denis Betts, the ex-Great Britain, England and Wigan star.


They’ve been narrowed down to this group (in chronological order):

Stephen KEARNEY (#11) | 1995-1998, 79 Games, 11 Tries

Tony TATUPU (#12) | 1995-1996 & 1998-1999, 10 Tries

Denis BETTS (#28) | 1995-1997, 42 Games, 11 Tries

Awen GUTTENBEIL (#33) | 1996-2006, 170 Games, 15 Tries

Logan SWANN (#42) | 1997-2003 & 2007-2008, 195 Games, 36 Tries, 1 Goal 

Ali LAUITIITI (#55) | 1998-2004, 115 Games, 33 Tries

Wairangi KOOPU (#64) | 1999 & 2001-2008, 159 Games, 34 Tries  

Simon MANNERING (#125) | 2005-2015, 225 Games, 52 Tries

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners