You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

An Ali Leitaua double and a late comeback weren’t quite enough for the One New Zealand Warriors as they were pipped 24-22 by South Sydney in their 14th-round New South Wales Cup encounter at Redfern Oval in Sydney on Saturday.

The under-manned Warriors were missing several of their regular players as they searched for their first win since beating the Sydney Roosters on April 30.

They started brilliantly with a try to stand-in fullback Setu Tu just two minutes into the game and added the first of Leiataua’s two tries to go to halftime just 12-14 behind.

Souths struck soon after the break to extend to 18-12 but this was a real arm wrestle with the Warriors responding with Leiataua’s second try, a brilliant long range effort. It wasn’t converted leaving the visitors just 16-18 down with 20 minutes to play.

The Rabbitohs went ahead 24-16 with a converted try at the 65-minute mark only for the Warriors to hit straight back with a try to second rower Jacob Laban converted by Eiden Ackland.

At 22-24 the Warriors had more than 10 minutes to try to steal a comeback win but South Sydney held on for the two-point win.

The Warriors’ cause wasn’t helped when they lost NRL rookie Demitric Sifakula after just 13 minutes.

With a third loss in their last four games the One New Zealand Warriors are now fifth but still only three points off the lead.

They’re back across the Tasman this week to face another stiff challenge from the sixth-placed Canberra Raiders.  

Match details
Redfern Oval, Sydney
South Sydney Rabbitohs 24 (Tom Carr, Peter Mamouzelos, Josiah Karapani, Maila Chan-Foon tries; Dean Hawkins 2 conversions, 2 penalties). 
One New Zealand Warriors 22 (Ali Leiataua 2, Setu Tu, Jacob Laban tries; Eiden Ackland 3 conversions).
Halftime: 14-12 Rabbitohs.
One New Zealand Warriors | Setu Tu; Moala Graham-Taufa, Brayden Wiliame, Ali Leiataua, Sanele Aukusitino; Eiden Ackland, Geronimo Doyle; Zyon Maiu’u, Kalani Going (c), James Gavet; Jacob Laban, Leka Halasima; Demitric Sifakula. Interchange: Etuate Fukofuka, Isaiah Vagana, Solomon Vasuvulagi, Tahi Baggaley.

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners