You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Kotahitanga takes honours in under-14 pathways contest

Sky Sport Future Warriors and Kotahitanga under-14 players provided plenty of interest for the One New Zealand Warriors’ pathways football and recruitment staff when they met in the curtain raiser to the club’s NRL clash against the Dolphins on Saturday.

Both teams relished the opportunity to play on the big stage at Go Media Stadium Mt Smart.

The Kotahitanga side made a fast start with two early tries and went on to lead 20-6 at halftime before the teams each scored two tries in the second half as Kotahitanga won 32-16.

Among the players on the field was Chanel Harris-Tavita’s brother Calvin (or CHT II). He bore a remarkable resemblance to his older sibling, not least being a left-footed kicker and goal kicker as well. The elder CHT was running the kicking tee to his brother, who scored two tries and kicked four conversions.

Match details:
Go Media Stadium Mt Smart, Auckland
Sky Sport Future Warriors Under-14 16 (Junior Halalupe, Barry Taukolo, Rilee Huggins tries; Christiano Elia conversion; Vaai Moli conversion).
Kotahitanga Under-14 32 (Calvin Harris-Tavita 2, Ezekiel Filipi 2, Darion Ngawhare, Johnny Pilkington tries; Calvin Harris-Tavita 4 conversions)
Halftime: 20-6 Kotahitanga.
Sky Sport Future Warriors Under-14 | Molitoni Otukolo (Otahuhu Leopards); Junior Halalupe (New Lynn Stags), Barry Taukolo (New Lynn Stags), Satali Fretton (Otahuhu Leopards), Blake Bruce (Waitemata Seagulls); Vaai Moli (Mangere East Hawks), Jeremiah Toleafoa (Kelston Boys’ High School); Vunivalu Nuipalau (Marist Saints), Tusi Liam Fanolua (Mangere East Hawks), Ali John Ioane (Ellerslie Eagles); Jester Niuula (Ellerslie Eagles), Rilee Huggins (New Lynn Stags); Frank Koro (Otahuhu Leopards). Interchange: CJ Poutoa-Henry (Otahuhu Leopards), Christiano Elia (Riccarton Knights), Kian Olsen (Marist Saints), Sione Lutui (Otahuhu Leopards), Daniel Kali (Marist Saints), Tupou Otutaha (Ellerslie Eagles), Ashton Kirk (Auckland Grammar School), Judriq Langenhoven (Pukekohe Pythons).
Kotahitanga Under-14 | Ezra McCarthy; Rokko Walker, Dustin Kei, Robbie Dunn, Jonty Pilkington; Ruka Smythe, Calvin Harris-Tavita; Uli Toki-Fisifeetau, Keanu Simpson, Levick Nu’uausala; Ezekiel Filipi, Tahi Leef; Lawson Pryor. Interchange: Leewes Natana-Hemara, Jhaedis Paerau, Lennox Grey-Samania, Tyler-Rex Samasoni-Tukuitonga, Bensen Manu, Darion Ngawhare.

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners