You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Aitken marks farewell by winning Mannering Medal

Second rower Euan Aitken was awarded the Vodafone Warriors’ highest accolade – the Simon Mannering Medal – at the 2022 NRL awards presented in front of fans on Mount Smart Stadium following last night’s season-ending clash against Gold Coast.

The 27-year-old Aitken received the award after his 21st appearance of the campaign – and his 35th and last for the club – on a night when he was typically reliable in the shattering golden point loss.

Making 82 metres from 10 runs, Aitken added 37 tackles with just one miss in an error-free performance.

Averaging 90 metres and 35 tackles a game, Aitken took out the award ahead of the other finalists hooker Wayde Egan and captain Tohu Harris.

While his season was limited to 15 appearances following a delayed start after his recovery from knee surgery, Harris again underlined his quality by winning the Players’ Player of the Year award voted on by his peers; he averaged 131 metres and 36 tackles a game.

Marking his 10th appearance of the season with his seventh try, centre Viliami Vailea won the Vodafone NRL Rookie of the Year award.

Vailea burns off Titans with long-range sizzler

The NRL Clubman of the Year had joint winners for the first time with middle forwards Bunty Afoa and Ben Murdoch-Masila unable to be separated.

Taking out the Vodafone People’s Choice Award was departing fullback Reece Walsh.


Vodafone People’s Choice | Reece Walsh
Vodafone NRL Rookie of the Year | Viliami Vailea
Clubman of the Year | Bunty Afoa and Ben Murdoch-Masila
NRL Players’ Player of the Year | Tohu Harris
Simon Mannering Medal | Euan Aitken

Vodafone Warriors Player of the Year | 1995-2022 
1995 Tea Ropati
1996 Stephen Kearney
1997 Stacey Jones
1998 Joe Vagana
1999 Jason Death
2000 Robert Mears
2001 Jerry Seuseu
2002 Ali Lauitiiti
2003 Francis Meli
2004 Wairangi Koopu
2005 Ruben Wiki
2006 Steve Price
2007 Steve Price
2008 Simon Mannering
2009 Micheal Luck
2010 Manu Vatuvei
2011 Simon Mannering
2012 Ben Matulino
2013 Simon Mannering
2014 Simon Mannering
2015 Ben Matulino
2016 Simon Mannering
2017 Roger Tuivasa-Sheck
2018 Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Simon Mannering Medal)
2019 Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Simon Mannering Medal)
2020 Tohu Harris (Simon Mannering Medal)
2021 Tohu Harris (Simon Mannering Medal)
2022 Euan Aitken (Simon Mannering Medal)

100-game rings | #209 Jazz Tevaga (Rd 11), #213 Bunty Afoa (Rd 16).
Departing/departed players | #251 Euan Aitken, #267 Jesse Arthars, #269, Daejarn Asi, Lleyton Finau, #265 Jackson Frei, #233 Chanel Harris-Tavita, #242 Eliesa Katoa, #263 Matt Lodge, #271 Dunamis Lui, #244 Jack Murchie, #236 Kodi Nikorima, Pride Petterson-Robati, Junior Ratuva, #268 Ash Taylor, #259 Reece Walsh.
Vodafone Warriors debuts | #266 Aaron Pene (Rd 1), #267 Jesse Arthars (Rd 2), #268 Ash Taylor (Rd 2), #269 Daejarn Asi (Rd 8), #270 Freddy Lussick (Rd 10), #271 Dunamis Lui (Rd 12).
NRL debut | #272 Ronald Volkman (Rd 15).
50 NRL appearances | #253 Bayley Sironen
50 Vodafone Warriors appearances | #233 Chanel Harris-Tavita, #237 Adam Pompey, #240 Wayde Egan
100 Vodafone Warriors appearances | #209 Jazz Tevaga (Rd 11), #213 Bunty Afoa (Rd 16).
150 NRL appearances | #251 Euan Aitken.

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners