You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Honouring 2002 grand final team on 20th anniversary

Old boys will be out in force at Mount Smart Stadium today as the Vodafone Warriors honour the 2002 team 20 years after the club's first grand final appearance.

Coach Daniel Anderson and 11 players from the grand final team are due to be at the ground.

As well as Anderson, Kevin Campion, Clinton Toopi, Mark Tookey, P J Marsh and Richard Villasanti have travelled from Australia to join Stacey Jones, Jerry Seuseu, Ali Lauitiiti,  Awen Guttenbeil, Wairangi Koopu and Logan Swann.

Fullback Ivan Cleary, winger Justin Murphy and standoff Motu Tony have provided big screen video messages.

In all almost 70 former players from #1 Dean Bell to #227 Anthony Gelling have registered for the first old boys' reunion in three years. A number of them joined the current Vodafone Warriors for lunch yesterday after the team's final training session ahead of today's Homecoming Series clash against Gold Coast.

The 2002 team that lost to the Sydney Roosters in the 2002 grand final was:

1 Ivan Cleary
2 Justin Murphy
3 John Carlaw  
4. Clinton Toopi
5 Francis Meli
6 Motu Tony
7 Stacey Jones (c)
8 Jerry Seuseu
9 PJ Marsh
10 Mark Tookey
11. Ali Lauitiiti
12 Awen Guttenbeil
13 Kevin Campion
14 Lance Hohaia
15 Richard Villasanti
16 Wairangi Koopu
17 Logan Swann
Coach: Daniel Anderson

The full list of old boys in attendance is:

1 Dean Bell
5 Whetu Taewa
8 Gavin Hill
9 Duane Mann
12 Tony Tatupu
13 Tony Tuimavave
15 Tea Ropati
18 Joe Vagana
24 Stacey Jones
25 Mike Dorreen
26 Richie Blackmore
32 Nigel Vagana
33 Awen Guttenbeil
34 Doc Murray
35 Iva Ropati
36 Anthony Swann
38 Bryan Henare
42 Logan Swann
43 Steve Buckingham
50 Jerry Seuseu
55 Ali Lauitiiti
60 Terry Hermansson
61 Monty Betham
62 Cliff Beverley
64 Wairangi Koopu
65 Francis Meli
66 Clinton Toopi
70 Boycie Nelson
71 Talite Liavaa
76 Mark Tookey
78 Paul Whatuira
80 Shontayne Hape
81 Henry Fa’afili
86 Kevin Campion
87 Richard Villasanti
88 Justin Morgan
89 Jason Temu
90 Motu Tony
93 Iafeta Paleaaesina
94 Anthony Seuseu
96 P J Marsh
97 Brent Webb
98 Sione Faumuina
101 Jeremiah Pai
107 Tevita Latu
108 Jerome Ropati
110 Epalahame Lauaki
112 Louis Anderson
116 Shannon Stowers
117 Herewini Rangi
123 Ruben Wiki
125 Simon Mannering
131 Sam Rapira
141 Russell Packer
142 Ben Matulino
143 Malo Solomona
147 Leeson Ah Mau
152 Kevin Locke
161 Mataupu Poching
163 Glen Fisiiahi
173 Ben Henry
183 Charlie Gubb
204 Blake Ayshford
208 James Gavet
223 Adam Blair
227 Anthony Gelling

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners