You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Otukolo hat-trick in big win

Hooker Taniela Otukolo collected a hat-trick to help the Vodafone Junior Warriors to a 42-6 trouncing of the North Sydney Bears in Sunday's third-round S G Ball clash at Macquarie University Sports Field in Sydney.

The Otahuhu Leopards junior crossed for his side's third and fourth tries in the 11th and 19th and then completed his treble two minutes from full-time.

The haul boosted Otukolo's tally to five tries in the opening three rounds after he had scored in the first two matches against the Victoria Thunderbolts and the Canberra Raiders.

The Vodafone Junior Warriors completely dominated North Sydney with prop Kina Kepu and centre Daeon Amituanai starting the romp with touchdowns in the second and eighth minutes.

With Otukolo's first two tries following soon after and one to winger Josiah Karapani, the Vodafone Junior Warriors had a 24-0 lead at halftime.

Loose forward Tamehana Paruru was over four minutes into the second half as the score blew out to 30-0 and then 36-0 when winger Eric Vaafusuaga provided his side's seventh try of the day.

Only then did the Bears trouble the scoreboard before Otukolo struck again.

The Vodafone Junior Warriors are on the road for the third straight week this Sunday when they face Cronulla-Sutherland at PointsBet Stadium. The Vodafone Warriors sit seventh on the ladder with four points from two wins and loss while the Sharks are 11th after a win and a loss from the two games they've played.

At Macquarie University Sports Field, Sydney

Vodafone Junior Warriors 42 (Taniela Otukolo 3, Kina Kepu, Daeon Amituanai, Josiah Karapani, Tamehana Paruru, Eric Vaafusuaga tries; Sione Moala 5 conversions).

North Sydney Bears 6 (Luke Harrison try; Luke Harrison conversion).

Halftime: 24-0 Vodafone Junior Warriors.



1            ALI LEIATAUA

2            JOSIAH KARAPANI


18          DAEON AMITUANUI          

5            ERIC VAAFUSUAGA

6            CASSIUS COWLEY

7            SIONE MOALA (c)

8            KINA KEPU

9            TANIELA OTUKOLO

10          LLEYTON FINAU

11          VALINGI KEPU

12          ZYON MAIU’U




15         TONY TAFA


20        T J DEVERY 


Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners