You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Three Vodafone Warriors are in line for accolades when the Rugby League Players’ Association Awards are announced in Sydney next week.

Wing Manu Vatuvei and halfback Shaun Johnson are two of the three finalists for the RLPA New Zealand Representative Player of the Year.

Vatuvei and Johnson excelled for the Kiwis in both their Four Nations campaign last year and in their drought-breaking Anzac Test win over the Kangaroos this season.

Vodafone Warriors utility Tuimoala Lolohea has been named as a finalist for the RLPA Rookie of the Year. Lolohea appeared in 23 of the club’s 24 games this season, playing in every backline position.

On the list of five finalists for the RLPA Players’ Player Medal is Vodafone Warriors-bound Sydney Roosters fullback Roger Tuivasa-Sheck.

The twelfth annual Awards will be presented next Tuesday night at Doltone House, Jones Bay Wharf.

“It is a very special feeling to be honoured by your fellow players and the RLPA Players' Player Medal is the ultimate recognition of your on-field performances,” said RLPA general president Clint Newton.

“It is certainly a career highlight for a professional rugby league Player.”

Players vote for their opponents on a 3-2-1 basis after each game of the NRL regular season and the votes are tallied after round 26 to determine the recipients of the Players' Player Medal and Rookie of the Year Awards. The night will also recognise career milestones and achievements at youth, premiership and representative levels of the game.

The Representative Player of the Year awards honour the contribution made by players to their national teams during the 2014 Four Nations, the 2015 State of Origin and Test Matches in the Australia, New Zealand and Rest of the World categories.

The prestigious Dennis Tutty Award will be presented to a player who has demonstrated the commitment and determination to champion and defend the rights of rugby league players.

The list of finalists for the 2015 RLPA Players’ Awards:


RLPA Players' Player Medal:

Ben Hunt (Brisbane Broncos)

Greg Inglis (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

James Tedesco (Tigers) 

Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)

Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Sydney Roosters)


RLPA Rookie of the Year:

Tuimoala Lolohea (Vodafone Warriors)

Cameron Munster (Melbourne Storm) 

Jake Trbojevic (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)


NYC Player of the Year:

Viliame Kikau (North Queensland Cowboys)

Te Maire Martin (Wests Tigers)

Latrell Mitchell (Sydney Roosters)


Australian Representative Player of the Year:

Greg Inglis

Corey Parker

Cameron Smith


New Zealand Representative Player of the Year:

Shaun Johnson

Jason Nightingale

Manu Vatuvei


Rest of the World Representative Player of the Year:

Marika Koroibete (Fiji)

Joseph Leilua (Samoa)

Josh McGuire (Samoa)

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners