You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
New South Wales second row Ryan Hoffman runs at Queensland Josh Papalii during the State of Origin match between New South Wales and Queensland at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, 28 May 2014.

Vodafone Warriors team-mates will go head-to-head for the first time in Origin history after New South Wales second rower Ryan Hoffman and Queensland prop Jacob Lillyman were today both confirmed for the opening match of the 2015 series at ANZ Stadium in Sydney on Wednesday, May 27.

In a big moment in the club’s 20th anniversary season, Hoffman is the first current Vodafone Warrior ever selected for the Blues.

Soon after he was officially named for New South Wales, Lillyman (31) was confirmed for his ninth Queensland Origin appearance and his third on end after playing in game two and three of last year’s series. He also represented the Maroons out of the Vodafone Warriors in 2011.

Hoffman (31), who joined the Vodafone Warriors on a three-year contract this season, was in the starting side for all three matches last year when New South Wales ended Queensland’s run of eight consecutive series wins; the Blues won the first two matches before the Maroons took out the final encounter. He will be making his 12th Origin appearance next week.

Previously fullback Wade McKinnon was chosen for the City Origin side in 2009 when he was with the Vodafone Warriors while Feleti Mateo made the City Origin team in 2012 and 2013.

James Maloney won Origin selection for New South Wales in 2013, the year after he finished with the Vodafone Warriors.

Previous Vodafone Warriors players who represented Queensland while at the club were Kevin Campion, PJ Marsh, Steve Price and Brent Tate.


ANZ Stadium, Homebush

Wednesday, May 27

NEW SOUTH WALES | Josh Dugan; Daniel Tupou, Josh Morris, Michael Jennings, Will Hopoate; Mitchell Pearce, Trent Hodkinson; Aaron Woods, Robbie Farah (c), James Tamou; Beau Scott, Ryan Hoffman; Josh Jackson. Interchange: Boyd Cordner, Trent Merrin, Andrew Fifita, David Klemmer.

QUEENSLAND | Billy Slater, Darius Boyd, Greg Inglis, Justin Hodges, Will Chambers, Johnathan Thurston, Cooper Cronk, Matt Scott, Cameron Smith (c), Nate Myles, Aidan Guerra, Sam Thaiday, Corey Parker. Interchange: Daly Cherry-Evans, Josh McGuire, Matt Gillett, Jacob Lillyman.

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners