You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Six players are vying to be named the Vodafone NYC Player of the Year and winner of the Sonny Fai Memorial Medal at the Vodafone Junior Warriors annual NYC awards dinner at SKYCITY in Auckland on Wednesday night (September 18). Photo: Photosport

Also revealed will be the winners of the DEWALT Clubman of the Year and the TNT Young NYC Player of the Year awards.

The dinner is held on the eve of the Vodafone Junior Warriors departure to Sydney ahead of their NYC semi-final against the Sydney Roosters at Allianz Stadium on Friday (5.15pm kick-off local time; 7.15pm NZT).

The nominees for the Vodafone Player of the Year Award are captain David Bhana, fullback David Fusitua, standoff Tuimoala Lolohea, utility Eko Malu, hooker Michael Sio and prop James Taylor. Previous winners of the title have been Kevin Locke (2008), Elijah Taylor (2009), Nafe Seluini (2010), John Palavi (2011) and Peta Hiku (2012).

James Taylor is also in line for the DEWALT Clubman of the Year along with prop Katamiro Atera, fullback/wing Viliami Kaveinga and wing Metia Lisati. Toka Likiliki won the award last year while earlier winners have been Kurt Tehira (2008), Kurt Kara (2009), Charlie Gubb (2010) and Donald Tony (2011).

Lisati, Lolohea and Kaveinga are joined by Sam Lisone and Toafofoa Sipley as the nominees for the TNT Young NYC Player of the Year. The winner will join previous recipients Elijah Taylor (2008), Ben Henry (2009), Carlos Tuimavave (2010), Siliva Havili (2011) and David Bhana (2012).

Among other features on the night, departing players will be acknowledged.

The Vodafone Warriors will have updates from the dinner on the website CLICK HERE, Facebook CLICK HERE and Twitter @NZ_Warriors
Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners