You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Warriors face big task on RTS milestone day

Squad depth will be on show for the One New Zealand Warriors in their fifth-round NRL clash against South Sydney at Accor Stadium today.

Five first-choice players have been ruled out meaning the Warriors lose a combined total of 700 NRL appearances.

Out for this match at least and longer in some cases are Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, Dylan Walker, Kurt Capewell, Marata Niukore and Luke Metcalf.

On the positive side, fullback Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad is back for his first game of the season.

With injuries having an impact, head coach Andrew Webster has brought in Te Maire Martin to replace Metcalf and Adam Pompey for Watene-Zelezniak.

Team Lists


  • Fullback for Rabbitohs is number 1 Latrell Mitchell
    Fullback for Warriors is number 1 Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad
  • Winger for Rabbitohs is number 2 Izaac Tu’itupou Thompson
    Winger for Warriors is number 4 Roger Tuivasa-Sheck
  • Centre for Rabbitohs is number 3 Jack Wighton
    Centre for Warriors is number 3 Rocco Berry
  • Centre for Rabbitohs is number 4 Isaiah Tass
    Centre for Warriors is number 18 Adam Pompey
  • Winger for Rabbitohs is number 5 Taane Milne
    Winger for Warriors is number 5 Marcelo Montoya
  • Five-Eighth for Rabbitohs is number 6 Cody Walker
    Five-Eighth for Warriors is number 6 Te Maire Martin
  • Halfback for Rabbitohs is number 7 Dean Hawkins
    Halfback for Warriors is number 7 Shaun Johnson


  • Prop for Rabbitohs is number 8 Tevita Tatola
    Prop for Warriors is number 8 Addin Fonua-Blake
  • Hooker for Rabbitohs is number 9 Damien Cook
    Hooker for Warriors is number 9 Wayde Egan
  • Prop for Rabbitohs is number 10 Thomas Burgess
    Prop for Warriors is number 16 Bunty Afoa
  • 2nd Row for Rabbitohs is number 11 Keaon Koloamatangi
    2nd Row for Warriors is number 10 Mitchell Barnett
  • 2nd Row for Rabbitohs is number 12 Jacob Host
    2nd Row for Warriors is number 11 Jackson Ford
  • Lock for Rabbitohs is number 13 Cameron Murray
    Lock for Warriors is number 13 Tohu Harris


  • Interchange for Rabbitohs is number 14 Michael Chee Kam
    Interchange for Warriors is number 15 Tom Ale
  • Interchange for Rabbitohs is number 15 Tallis Duncan
    Interchange for Warriors is number 17 Jazz Tevaga
  • Interchange for Rabbitohs is number 16 Sean Keppie
    Interchange for Warriors is number 20 Jacob Laban
  • Interchange for Rabbitohs is number 18 Peter Mamouzelos
    Interchange for Warriors is number 21 Chanel Harris-Tavita


  • Replacement for Rabbitohs is number 17 Davvy Moale
    Replacement for Warriors is number 23 Ali Leiataua

Match Officials

  • Referee: Liam Kennedy
  • Touch Judge: Jon Stone
  • Senior Review Official: Ashley Klein

Last updated:

With Capewell and Niukore both out, Mitchell Barnett has been switched to the second row with Bunty Afoa off the bench to start at prop.

Jazz Tevaga's on the bench for Walker and Chanel Harris-Tavita fills another spot on the interchange with his utility value.

The Rabbitohs picked up their first win of the season last week.

While it was a far from complete performance, they did enough to get home 20-16 over the Bulldogs on Good Friday, completing all but two of their 36 sets with the ball but still finishing on the wrong end of several key stat categories.

The Warriors secured their second win of the season with a gritty 20-12 victory over the Knights in Auckland, earned on the back of another strong defensive showing in which the two tries they leaked both came from kicks.

South Sydney won its lone meeting with the Warriors comfortably on a wet night last season to extend its winning run against the Kiwi side to eight in a row.

The Warriors have played at Accor Stadium just twice in the past four years, winning both of those games against the Bulldogs, while the Rabbitohs have won eight of their past 10 at the venue.

Team news

Rabbitohs: A change on Friday with Davvy Moale making way for Peter Mamouzelos, who will play some minutes out of dummy half backing up Damien Cook. With Alex Johnston sidelined by a hamstring injury, Izaac Tu'itupou Thompson gets the call up to start in an otherwise unchanged backline. Jacob Host retains his place in the back row with Michael Chee Kam again included on the bench. Dean Hawkins will make his third-straight appearance in the No.7 jersey with Lachlan Ilias remaining in the reserves. 

One New Zealand Warriors: Changes on Friday with Dallin Watene-Zelezniak (hamstring) and Marata Niukore (foot) dropping out. Adam Pompey moves onto the right wing, Mitch Barnett switches to the second row and Bunty Afoa starts in the front row. Chanel Harris-Tavita has joined the bench from the reserves. Veteran Te Maire Martin comes in to replace the injured Luke Metcalf at five-eighth. Kurt Capewell (concussion protocols) and Dylan Walker (ankle) are also on the injured list. 

Stat attack

  • The Rabbitohs have scored 208 points in their past five games against the Warriors.
  • Warriors fullback Roger Tuivasa-Sheck will play his 200th NRL game.
  • Rabbitohs five-eighth Cody Walker has scored nine tries in 11 games against the Warriors.

Stats supplied by David Middleton, League Information Services, author of the official annual of the NRL.

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners