You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Quartet chosen as contenders for Players' Champion

Captain Tohu Harris, fellow middle forward Addin Fonua-Blake, winger Marcelo Montoya and hooker Wayde Egan are the Vodafone Warriors' four players selected as contenders for The Players' Champion award run by the Rugby League Players' Association.

Harris has just been named the winner of the 2022 Vodafone Warriors' Players' Player of the Year award and he was also a finalist for the club's major accolade the Simon Mannering Medal.

Egan joined Harris as a Mannering Medal finalist - the award was won by Euan Aitken - while Fonua-Blake and Montoya again had impressive campaigns in a challenging final season based in Australia.

The Players' Champion runs separately to the NRL's Dally M Awards.

Four players from each club are chosen as contenders for The Players' Champion.

The winners of The Players’ Champion award for both the NRL and NRLW will be announced during Channel 9’s grand final coverage on October 2.

Past recipients Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers), James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters), and Kalyn Ponga (Knights) feature on the star-studded shortlist.

About The Players’ Champion voting:

  • The contenders’ list is made up of four players from each club nominated to be eligible for The Players’ Champion award.
  • RLPA delegates at each club put forward the three best players from their own team.
  • An RLPA working group nominates a fourth player to round out the nomination process.
  • In total, 64 players (four from each team) are eligible to receive votes in the end of season poll.
  • Voting is open to all contracted NRL players, with each player selecting opposition players using a 3/2/1 format.
  • Players are not penalised for any suspensions and/or fines received during the course of the season.
  • Players cannot vote for their teammates.
  • The player with the most number of votes is awarded The Players’ Champion.
  • The five finalists for The Players’ Champion (NRL) will be announced on October 21.
  • The Players’ Champion awards will also include a rookie of the year, the Dream Team and the Dennis Tutty Award for both NRL and NRLW players.

The 64 Contenders for The Players’ Champion (NRL):

James Tedesco
Joseph Manu
Joseph Sua’ali’i
Jared Waerea-Hargreaves

Alex Johnston
Keaon Koloamatangi
Junior Tatola
Latrell Mitchell

Kieran Foran
Haumole Olakau’atu
Jake Trbojevic
Daly Cherry-Evans

Dylan Edwards
Isaah Yeo
Apisai Koroisau
Nathan Cleary

Ben Hunt
Moses Suli
Jack De Belin
Jack Bird

Joe Tapine
Adam Elliott
Hudson Young
Jack Wighton

Tino Fa'asuamaleaui
Erin Clark
Moeaki Fotuaika
Beau Fermor

Patrick Carrigan
Payne Haas
Adam Reynolds
Corey Oates

Joseph Ofahengaue
Kelma Tuilagi
Jackson Hastings
Dane Laurie

Cameron Munster
Harry Grant
Justin Olam
Nelson Asofa-Solomona

Vodafone Warriors
Tohu Harris
Marcelo Montoya
Wayde Egan
Addin Fonua-Blake

Valentine Holmes
Reece Robson
Scott Drinkwater
Jeremiah Nanai

David Klemmer
Dane Gagai
Dominic Young
Kalyn Ponga

Max King
Jeremy Marshall-King
Matt Burton
Josh Addo-Carr

Shaun Lane
Dylan Brown
Mitch Moses
Clinton Gutherson

Nicho Hynes
Siosifa Talakai
Ronaldo Mulitalo
Toby Rudolf 

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners