You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Six Vodafone Warriors named in wider World Cup squad

A total of 13 current and former Vodafone Warriors have been named in the Kiwis’ 38-strong Rugby League World Cup wider squad.

Seven players from the club's 2021 NRL roster are included with player of the year Tohu Harris joined by Chanel Harris-Tavita, Peta Hiku, Kodi Nikorima, Jazz Tevaga and Dallin Watene-Zelezniak along with Ken Maumalo, who signed with the Wests Tigers mid-season.


Homeward-bound Shaun Johnson - returning to the Vodafone Warriors after three seasons with Cronulla Sutherland - is also named along with former Vodafone Warriors Erin Clark (Gold Coast), Kieran Foran (Manly Warringah), Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad (Canberra), Marata Niukore (Parramatta) and Isaiah Papali’i (Parramatta).  

A second list of New Zealand-eligible players has also been released by the NZRL which features 15 players with Vodafone Warriors links – 2021 NRL players Bunty Afoa, Tom Ale, Rocco Berry, Taniela Otukolo, Hayze Perham, Adam Pompey and Paul Turner as well as wider squad members Otukinekina Kepu and Valingi Kepu. Also included are former Vodafone Warriors Brad Abbey (Sydney Roosters), Raymond Faitala-Mariner (Canterbury Bankstown), Patrick Herbert (Gold Coast), Sam Lisone (Gold Coast), Nathaniel Roache (Parramatta) and Toafofoa Sipley (Manly Warringah).

Despite the absence of international football over the last two years, 2022 will be the busiest international calendar in recent time as the NZRL works towards a June Pacific Test and Trans-Tasman clash, all before the 2022 Rugby League World Cup campaign in the United Kingdom in October.

“We have listed this wider squad so players are aware that the upcoming preseason and following season creates an enormous opportunity for them and this Kiwi team,” said head coach Michael Maguire.

“International football has been a challenge but the players’ enthusiasm to represent their country is as strong as ever. There’s no question as to how much this jersey means to them and their eagerness to play has never wavered. The senior players set a strong foundation and have their eyes focused on the 2022 World Cup.”

The 2021 season saw many Kiwi eligible players stamp their mark on the NRL, encouraging selectors to name a ‘Notable Players’ list which Maguire has deemed “the future of the Kiwi team.”

“With the football that our younger players have played, we have created a list of players that, with a little more experience, could be the future of this team,” he said.

“I am sure we will unearth some new Kiwi talent in the next 12 months, and we may even uncover more current names not listed. Nevertheless, this depth is encouraging.

“This year, we have watched many New Zealand players have their best seasons yet. Now with that experience, coupled with the new generation of talent coming through – it is an exciting time to be a Kiwi.”


Josh Aloiai (Manly Sea Eagles)

Nelson Asofa-Solomona (Melbourne Storm)

Jesse Bromwich (Melbourne Storm)

Kenny Bromwich (Melbourne Storm)

Dylan Brown (Parramatta Eels)

Erin Clark (Gold Coast Titans)

James Fisher-Harris (Penrith Panthers)

Kieran Foran (Manly Sea Eagles)

Braden Hamlin-Uele (Cronulla Sharks)

Corey Harawira-Naera (Canberra Raiders)

Morgan Harper (Manly Sea Eagles)

Tohu Harris (Vodafone Warriors)

Chanel Harris-Tavita (Vodafone Warriors)

Peta Hiku (Vodafone Warriors)

Jahrome Hughes (Melbourne Storm)

Jamayne Isaako (Brisbane Broncos)

Shaun Johnson (Cronulla Sharks)

Isaac Liu (Sydney Roosters)

Joseph Manu (Sydney Roosters)

Jeremy Marshall-King (Canterbury Bulldogs)

Ken Maumalo (Wests Tigers)

Ronaldo Mulitalo (Cronulla Sharks)

Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad (Canberra Raiders)

Briton Nikora (Cronulla Sharks)

Kodi Nikorima (Vodafone Warriors)

Marata Niukore (Parramatta Eels)

Isaiah Papali’i (Parramatta Eels)

Kevin Proctor (Gold Coast Titans)

Jordan Rapana (Canberra Raiders)

Jordan Riki (Brisbane Broncos)

Josh Schuster (Manly Sea Eagles)

Bailey Simonsson (Canberra Raiders)

Brandon Smith (Melbourne Storm)

Reimis Smith (Melbourne Storm)

Joseph Tapine (Canberra Raiders)

Jazz Tevaga (Vodafone Warriors)

Jared Waerea-Hargreaves (Sydney Roosters)

Dallin Watene-Zelezniak (Vodafone Warriors)



Brad Abbey (Sydney Roosters)

Caleb Aekins (Canberra Raiders)

Bunty Afoa (Vodafone Warriors)

Tom Ale (Vodafone Warriors)

Jesse Arthars (Brisbane Broncos)

Daejarn Asi (North Queensland Cowboys)

Rocco Berry (Vodafone Warriors)

Shawn Blore (Wests Tigers)

Cassisus Cowley (Wynnum Manly Seagulls)

Haze Dunster (Parramatta Eels)

Herman Ese'ese (Newcastle Knights)

Raymond Faitala-Mariner (Canterbury Bulldogs)

Jackson Ferris (Cronulla Sharks)

Wiremu Greig (Parramatta Eels)

Lani Graham-Taufa (Sydney Roosters)

Moala Graham-Taufa (Sydney Roosters)

Patrick Herbert (Gold Coast Titans)

Mawene Hiroti (Cronulla Sharks)

Peter Hola (North Queensland Cowboys)

Hymel Hunt (Newcastle Knights)

Isaiya Katoa (Penrith Panthers)

Sione Katoa (Cronulla Sharks)

Oregon Kaufusi (Parramatta Eels)

Asu Kepaoa (Wests Tigers)

Otukinekina Kepu (Vodafone Warriors)

Valingi Kepu (Vodafone Warriors)

Sebastian Kris (Canberra Raiders)

Spencer Leniu (Penrith Panthers)

Moses Leota (Penrith Panthers)

Danny Levi (Brisbane Broncos)

Sam Lisone (Gold Coast Titans)

Christian Ma'anaima (Newcastle Knights)

Esan Marsters (Gold Coast Titans)

Steven Marsters (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Greg Marzhew (Gold Coast Titans)

Isaac Matalavea-Booth (Brisbane Broncos)

Sione Moala (Canberra Raiders)

Jeremiah Nanai (North Queensland Cowboys)

Griffin Neame (North Queensland Cowboys)

Taniela Otukolo (Vodafone Warriors)

Jaxson Paulo (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Hayze Perham (Parramatta Eels)

Emry Pere (North Queensland Cowboys)

Adam Pompey (Vodafone Warriors)

Nathaniel Roache (Parramatta Eels)

TC Robati (Brisbane Broncos)

Simi Sasagi (Newcastle Knights)

Tuki Simpkins (Wests Tigers)

Toafofoa Sipley (Manly Sea Eagles)

Siosifa Talakai (Cronulla Sharks)

Murray Taulagi (North Queensland Cowboys)

Tukupa-Ke Hau Tapuha (Sydney Roosters)

Zane Tetevano (Leeds Rhinos)

Matthew Timoko (Canberra Raiders)

Starford Toa (Newcastle Knights)

Jackson Topine (Canterbury Bulldogs)

Christian Tuipulotu (Manly Sea Eagles)

Paul Turner (Vodafone Warriors)

Christopher Veaila (Newcastle Knights)

Naufahu Whyte (Sydney Roosters)

Jack Williams (Cronulla Sharks

Xavier Willison (Brisbane Broncos)

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners