You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The Eels' impressive season continued with a physical win over an under-strength Roosters last week, while the Warriors scored plenty of points at Lottoland but conceded even more.

A couple of moments of controversy have proven costly for the Eels when it came to naming a team this week, with Dylan Brown and Marata Niukore both taking early pleas for incidents that have overshadowed what was otherwise an impressive win. 

It was the Eels' first victory over the Roosters since 2016 and keeps them in second place on the ladder.

The Warriors, meanwhile, are just clinging to eighth, having gone win-loss for most of the year. They welcomed back Chanel Harris-Tavita in round nine with the halfback adding plenty in attack, but coach Nathan Brown is still pondering the best fit for teen prodigy Reece Walsh.

The rundown

Team news

Warriors: Kane Evans is out with Jazz Tevaga starting at prop, while Bayley Sironen starts in the second row with Josh Curran shifted to the bench. Jack Murchie is the 18th man.

Centre Euan Aitken has confirmed he will make his return from injury in Sunday’s match against Parramatta in place of rookie winger Edward Kosi.

Rocco Berry shifts to the wing. Eliesa Katoa was the other player omitted from the extended squad on Saturday.

Ben Murdoch-Masila returns in the second row with Bayley Sironen dropping to the reserves in the only other change from last week's loss to Manly.

Fullback Roger Tuivasa-Sheck has scored eight tries from 10 games against the Eels.

Eels: Coach Brad Arthur has named his son Jakob to make his NRL debut at five-eighth for the suspended Dylan Brown. Waqa Blake (calf) makes a timely return at centre for the suspended Marata Niukore.

Hooker Reed Mahoney (HIA) and lock Nathan Brown (hip) have both been named with Shaun Lane reverting to the bench. Ray Stone replaces Haze Dunster on the bench. 

Jakob Arthur and Stone are available to play after observing strict level 3 protocols and passing COVID-19 tests, having joined the squad from outside the NRL bubble.

Keegan Hipgrave is the 18th man with Haze Dunster dropping out of the playing squad on game day. Joey Lussick and Jordan Rankin dropped off the extended bench 24 hours before kick-off.

Parramatta have scored 144 points in their past four games.

Team Lists


  • Fullback for Warriors is number 1 Roger Tuivasa-Sheck
    Fullback for Eels is number 1 Clinton Gutherson
  • Winger for Warriors is number 4 Rocco Berry
    Winger for Eels is number 2 Maika Sivo
  • Centre for Warriors is number 3 Adam Pompey
    Centre for Eels is number 3 Tom Opacic
  • Centre for Warriors is number 22 Euan Aitken
    Centre for Eels is number 4 Waqa Blake
  • Winger for Warriors is number 5 Ken Maumalo
    Winger for Eels is number 5 Blake Ferguson
  • Five-Eighth for Warriors is number 6 Kodi Nikorima
    Five-Eighth for Eels is number 6 Jake Arthur
  • Halfback for Warriors is number 7 Chanel Harris-Tavita
    Halfback for Eels is number 7 Mitchell Moses


  • Prop for Warriors is number 8 Jamayne Taunoa-Brown
    Prop for Eels is number 8 Reagan Campbell-Gillard
  • Hooker for Warriors is number 9 Wayde Egan
    Hooker for Eels is number 9 Reed Mahoney
  • Prop for Warriors is number 14 Jazz Tevaga
    Prop for Eels is number 10 Junior Paulo
  • 2nd Row for Warriors is number 12 Ben Murdoch-Masila
    2nd Row for Eels is number 11 Isaiah Papali'i
  • 2nd Row for Warriors is number 18 Bayley Sironen
    2nd Row for Eels is number 12 Ryan Matterson
  • Lock for Warriors is number 13 Tohu Harris
    Lock for Eels is number 13 Nathan Brown


  • Interchange for Warriors is number 11 Josh Curran
    Interchange for Eels is number 14 Oregon Kaufusi
  • Interchange for Warriors is number 15 Leeson Ah Mau
    Interchange for Eels is number 15 Shaun Lane
  • Interchange for Warriors is number 16 Bunty Afoa
    Interchange for Eels is number 16 Ray Stone
  • Interchange for Warriors is number 17 Reece Walsh
    Interchange for Eels is number 17 Bryce Cartwright


  • Reserve for Warriors is number 20 Jack Murchie
    Reserve for Eels is number 19 Keegan Hipgrave

Match Officials

  • Referee: Ashley Klein
  • Touch Judge: Jon Stone
  • Touch Judge: Kasey Badger
  • Senior Review Official: Chris Butler

Last updated:

Key match-up

Roger Tuivasa-Sheck v Clint Gutherson: The two No.1s aren't just among the most important players for their respective teams, they are the heart and soul of their sides.

Two of the real in-form players of the competition, they are talismans who bring confidence and energy beyond their carries, tries and ball-playing. 

Stat attack

The 260 points scored by the Eels so far is the most points they've ever scored through nine rounds in the club's history. 


Head to NRL Pick'Em and get pickin’ to win a share of $100,000 cash every week!

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners