You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Boost for Maroons preparations with extended squad named

Queensland Rugby League is ramping up its commitment to provide the best possible preparation for the Harvey Norman Queensland Maroons with confirmation today of additional training and financial support for players.

Head coach Tahnee Norris has named a 32-member squad, which will assemble on Monday evening, with a further seven sessions planned as the Maroons build towards the June 25 clash against New South Wales.

All squad members will receive a training contract as part of the QRL’s increased investment into the women’s program.

Norris, and assistant coaches Ben Jeffries and Aaron Zimmerle, will oversee the squad training sessions, with further support from a number of specialists in their fields, including renowned kicking coach Dave Alred.

Norris has been impressed with the standard of play in the early rounds of the BHP Premiership.

The representative squad includes players from seven clubs – Tweed Seagulls, Burleigh Bears, Central Queensland Capras, Valkyries, North Queensland Gold Stars, Valleys Diehards and West Brisbane Panthers.

“I’m really excited about the group we are bringing together over the next few months,” Norris said. 

“We’ve got a lot of experience, as well as new players who will bring extra energy to the squad.

“I’m also very encouraged by the form of our regional teams, and the players selected from central and northern Queensland teams deserve their opportunity.”

In a further boost to the Maroons’ chances of keeping the shield in Queensland, the selected team will now spend more time together with the duration of the Origin camp extended to 10 days leading into the game.

“We’re delighted to have this extra support, and now it’s up to our coaching staff and playing group to prepare well and deliver a performance that all Queensland fans can be proud of,” Norris said.  

Maroons extended training squad

Tarryn Aiken – Tweed Seagulls

Belinda Arthur-Clarke – Burleigh Bears

Chelsea Baker – Central Queensland Capras

Annette Brander – Central Queensland Capras

Brittany Breayley-Nati – Burleigh Bears

Ali Brigginshaw – Valleys Diehards

Lauren Brown – Burleigh Bears

Karina Brown – Burleigh Bears

Zara Canfield – Tweed Seagulls

Shenae Ciesiolka – Valleys Diehards

Brianna Clark – Valleys Diehards

Rangi-Marie Edwards-Bruce – North Queensland Gold Stars

Jess Elliston – Tweed Seagulls

Lavinia Gould – Valleys Diehards

Tazmin Gray – Burleigh Bears

Tallisha Harden – Burleigh Bears

Chelsea Lenarduzzi – Burleigh Bears

Shellie Long – Burleigh Bears

Emma Manzelmann – North Queensland Gold Stars

Shannon Mato – North Sydney Bears

Michaela Peck – Valkyries 

Rona Peters – Tweed Seagulls

Shaniah Power – North Queensland Gold Stars

Natassja Purontakanen – Valleys Diehards

Julia Robinson – West Brisbane Panthers

Romy Teitzel – North Queensland Gold Stars

Zahara Temara – Burleigh Bears

Chante Temara – Burleigh Bears

Amy Turner – Tweed Seagulls

Tamika Upton – Burleigh Bears

Meg Ward – Valleys Diehards

Acacia Wulf – West Brisbane Panthers


Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners