You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Region of Origin clash today

Auckland’s best under-18 players will be part of a historic day for women’s rugby league when they feature in the North v South Region of Origin curtain-raiser to the first-ever standalone NRLW match at Mount Smart Stadium today.

The Warriors play the St George Illawarra Dragons in the main game (3.15pm kick-off) with the girls' Region of Origin clash starting at 1.30pm.

Auckland Rugby League CEO Greg Whaiapu said it was of huge significance for the regional match to be part of such a big day involving the Warriors' NRLW side.

“These girls in the North and South sides are the future of women’s league in New Zealand, so it’s fitting they are part of such a momentous occasion,” Whaiapu said. 

“The inclusion of girls’ grades for the 2019 Region of Origin series is the latest step in our plan for the female game in Auckland and comes as we experience growth in the girls’ grades at club level and increased opportunities on the rep scene via Auckland Vulcans women’s and age-grade teams.”

Since the introduction of girls' club grades in 2017 the competitions have experienced year-on-year growth.

From 12 teams in the first season to 19 last year, the Auckland Rugby League had 34 girls’ teams spread across four different grades in 2019.

At senior level the Auckland Vulcans again took part in the NZRL national women’s tournament in July while in October Auckland Vulcans under-14 and under-18 teams will travel down to Huntly to take on their Waikato counterparts in what has now become an annual fixture on the calendar. 



1 Melvina Weilert

2 Kahlia Pai 

3 Daumavia Herewini 

4 Shina Ugapo 

5 Avery Carmont 

6 Freesia Pokaia 

7 Jayden Rogers

8 Jaydene Reupena 

9 Summer Fletcher 

10 Tenneessee Ulaula-Ieremia 

11 Xanthia Fonoti 

12 Naumai-Aaria Wall 

13 Muamai Setefano 

14 Cilia-Marie Po’e 

15 Lotu Pangataia 

16 Heaven-lee Young 

17 Paige Asiata 

18 Faustina Mikaele



1 Alayna Kamuhemu 

2 Brooklyn Temu 

3 Harmony Christie 

4 Jayme Latu 

5 Jenna Mamea 

6 Kaiyah Atai 

7 Keira Sekene

8 Pearl Tuitama 

9 Nalani Ngamu 

10 Rowena Meleisea-Koonwaiyou 

11 Maraea Ah Kuoi-Atmore 

12 Mia Holo 

13 Myah Skipps 

14 Grace Nee

15 Honor Wilson 

16 Mya Hill-Moana 

17 Leah Rhys-Toka 

18 Nga Mako Totorewa

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners