You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Nine Vodafone Warriors in Kiwi squad

Just-named Vodafone Warriors NRL rookie of the year Isaiah Papali’i is one of nine of the club’s players included in the Kiwis’ wider squad to prepare for the end-of-season one-off Test against the Kangaroos in Auckland and the three internationals to follow against England when they travel to the United Kingdom.

Papali’i is also among nine Vodafone Warriors in the Junior Kiwis’ wider squad.

The Kiwis, Junior Kiwis and Kiwi Ferns all take on Australia in Trans-Tasman Showdown at Mount Smart Stadium on Saturday, October 13.

As well as Papali’i, the other Vodafone Warriors named in the Kiwi squad are Gerard Beale, Adam Blair, Tohu Harris, Peta Hiku, Shaun Johnson, Issac Luke, Ken Maumalo and Roger Tuivasa-Sheck.

Papali’i and Joseph Vuna, who made his NRL debut for the Vodafone Warriors this year, head the list of players in the Junior Kiwis’ wider squad. Also included are Intrust Super Premiership regulars Chanel Harris-Tavita and Hayze Perham along with Tom Ale, Preston Riki, Tyler Slade, Lewis Soosemea and Paul Turner.

Kiwi head coach Michael Maguire and Junior Kiwis head coach Ezra Howe collaborated with national selectors Mark Horo, Hugh McGahan and Tawera Nikau to select the squads.

The triple header marks the first time since 2014 that players from all three representative teams will get the opportunity to run out in front of a home crowd filled with family, friends and fans. For players such as Adam Blair, pulling on the black and white jumper compares to nothing else.

“I’d represent my country any day of the week. We love playing games here at home in front of our family and friends. To see the fans turn out and sing the national anthem alongside us is something special,” he said.

Ahead of Maguire’s second outing at the helm of the Kiwis, his first in New Zealand, he looks forward to working with the players. The Test earlier in the year against England provided him with insights into many of the players in the wider squad and he says he’s “looking forward to the re-introduction of senior players such as Shaun Johnson, Roger Tuivasa-Sheck and Tohu Harris who will inject years of experience and leadership back into the squad.”

Tickets are on sale now from for the Trans-Tasman Showdown (adult ticket prices from $35 and children from $15).



Brisbane Broncos | Jamayne Isaako, Jordan Kahu, Kodi Nikorima

Canberra Raiders | Jordan Rapana, Joseph Tapine

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs | Raymond Faitala-Mariner, Reimis Smith

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks | Sosaia Feki

Gold Coast Titans | Kevin Proctor

Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles | Martin Taupau

Melbourne Storm | Nelson Asofa-Solomona, Jesse Bromwich, Kenneath Bromwich, Jahrome Hughes, Brandon Smith

Newcastle Knights | Herman Ese’ese, Danny Levi

North Queensland Cowboys | Te Maire Martin

Penrith Panthers | James Fisher-Harris, Corey Harawira-Naera, Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, Dean Whare

St George Illawarra Dragons | Leeson Ah Mau

Sydney Roosters | Isaac Liu, Joseph Manu, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves

Vodafone Warriors | Gerard Beale, Adam Blair, Tohu Harris, Peta Hiku, Shaun Johnson, Issac Luke, Ken Maumalo, Isaiah Papali’i, Roger Tuivasa-Sheck

Wests Tigers | Esan Marsters



Brisbane Broncos | Rory Ferguson, Jordan Riki

Canberra Raiders | Paul Roache

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs | Morgan Harper

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks | Jackson Ferris, Cruz Topaz-Aveai

Gold Coast Titans | Darius Farmer, Moeaki Fotuaika, Jaxson Paulo, Kea Pere

Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles | Manase Fainu, Tevita Funa, Moses Suli

Melbourne Storm | Kayleb Milne, Junior Rutava, Kelma Tuilagi

Newcastle Knights | Pasame Saulo

North Queensland Cowboys | Peter Hola, Sean Mullany, Emry Pere, Murray Taulagi

Parramatta Eels | Tui Afualo, Dylan Brown, Haze Dunstar, Oregon Kaufusi

Penrith Panthers | Dean Blore

St George Illawarra Dragons | Steven Marsters

Sydney Roosters | Bailey Bentley-Harper

South Sydney Rabbitohs | Jesse Arthars, Mawene Hiroti, Lucky Ta’avale

Vodafone Warriors | Tom Ale, Chanel Harris-Tavita, Isaiah Papali’i, Hayze Perham, Preston Riki, Tyler Slade, Lewis Soosemea, Paul Turner, Joseph Vuna

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners