You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The Intrust Super Premiership NSW Residents side went down 6-36 to their Queensland counterparts after a dominant second half display in Sunday's interstate clash at Suzuki Stadium in Brisbane.

A double to Delouise Hieter early in the second half began the flow of points for Queensland, which was up by only two at the half-time break, while skipper Blake Leary earned man of the match honours.

Despite the score-line, there were some strong showings for the NSW side, including the ever-threatening Moses Leota and reliable workhorse Cheyne Whitelaw, while Dylan Edwards was very efficient at the back.

It was a fast start for the Queenslanders, who were able to score first off the back of a brilliant run out of dummy half. Mitch Cronin was then able to pick the ball up from dummy half and take advantage of backtracking defenders when he put Dean Britt through a hole to score.

NSW then dominated possession and field position for a short period of time, and an incredibly powerful Moses Leota try was fair reward.

Back-to-back sets put pressure on Queensland, but it was able to defuse any situation before NSW did the same thing at the other end of the field at the back-end of the opening half.

A penalty on the stroke of halftime allowed Scott Doyle to slot a gift two points, which gave Queensland a small 8-6 margin going into the break.

Within 10 minutes of the second half, Hoeter had his double, with the second try a freakish effort where he was able to catch the ball AFL-style and plant it down in the corner.

Billy Walters was able to plant the ball down first off a Kyle Laybutt kick to extend the lead, while Tom Opacic scored a strong try soon after to extend the lead to 30-6.

The final scoring play of the match came when dynamic utility Christian Hazard combined with Mitch Frei for a try adjacent to the posts, making the final score 36-6.


Suzuki Stadium, Langlands Stadium, Brisbane

Queensland Residents 36 (Delouise Hoeter 2, Dean Britt, Billy Walters, Tom Opacic, Mitch Frei tries; Scott Doyle 6 conversions).

NSW Intrust Super Premiership Residents 6 (Moses Leota try; Jayden Nikorima conversion).

Halftime: 8-6 Queensland


QUEENSLAND RESIDENTS | Jahrome Hughes (Sunshine Coast Falcons); Jonus Pearson (Redcliffe Dolphins), Tom Opacic (Redcliffe Dolphins), Scott Doyle (Souths Logan Magpies), Delouise Hoeter (Norths Devils); Billy Walters (Easts Tigers), Kyle Laybutt (Townsville Blackhawks); Sam Anderson (Redcliffe Dolphins), Mitch Cronin (Wynnum Manly Seagulls), Nathaniel Neale (Ipswich Jets); Dean Britt (Easts Tigers), Blake Leary (Townsville Blackhawks), Mitchell Frei (Wynnum Manly Seagulls). Interchange: Christian Hazard (Redcliffe Dolphins), Nick Slyney (Redcliffe Dolphins), George Fai (Souths Logan Magpies), Joe Boyce (Souths Logan Magpies).

ISP NSW RESIDENTS | Dylan Edwards (Penrith Panthers); Chris Centrone (Wyong Roos), Jordan Drew (Newtown Jets), Matt Allwood (Vodafone Warriors), Bureta Faraimo (Wentworthville Magpies); Jayden Nikorima (Wyong Roos), Mitch Cornish (c) (Wyong Roos); Andy Saunders (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs), Craig Garvey (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs), Moses Leota (Penrith Panthers); Jack Williams (Newtown Jets), Asipeli Fine (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs); Cheyne Whitelaw (North Sydney Bears). Interchange: Tyrone May (Penrith Panthers), Tautalatasi Tasi (North Sydney Bears), Lindsay Collins (Wyong Roos), Toafofoa Sipley (Vodafone Warriors)‚Äč.

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners