You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Current and past Vodafone Warriors players dominate the Toa Samoa side taking on Fiji Bati tomorrow in the first-ever rugby league Test played in Samoa.

Six 2016 Vodafone Warriors are joined by three former club players for a much-awaited contest kicking off at Apia Park at 3.40pm NZT (live on SKY Sport’s pop-up channel 56 from 3.30pm NZT).

On an occasion marking Toa Samoa Rugby League’s 30th anniversary, the Vodafone Warriors are represented by four players who featured at NRL level this year – props Bunty Afoa, James Gavet and Sam Lisone and wing Ken Maumalo. Also included are Intrust Super Premiership regular Mason Lino (an NRL debutant in 2015) and Erin Clark who was used at both ISP and NYC level this year.

Joining them are former Vodafone Warriors Leeson Ah Mau (St George Illawarra), Raymond Faitala-Mariner (Canterbury Bankstown) and Pita Godinet (Manly). Also in the side is former Kiwi front rower Sam Kasiano.

Featuring in Fiji’s line-up are Kevin Naiqama, Waqa Blake and Kane Evans.

The Samoans go into the Test buoyed by an 18-6 win over Mate Ma’a Tonga in this year’s Polynesian Cup international in May while Fiji lost 22-24 by Papua New Guinea in the Melanesian Cup battle.


Saturday, October 8, 3.40pm (NZT)

TOA SAMOA (possible line-up) | Denny Solomona (Castleford Tigers); Ken Maumalo (Vodafone Warriors), David Nofoaluma (Wests Tigers), Tim Lafai (Dragons), Matthew Wright (Sea Eagles); Pita Godinet (Sea Eagles), Mason Lino (Vodafone Warriors); Sam Kasiano (Bulldogs), Kaysa Pritchard (Eels), Leeson Ah Mau (Dragons); Bunty Afoa (Vodafone Warriors), Raymond Faitala-Mariner (Bulldogs); Sauaso Sue (Wests Tigers). Interchange: Erin Clark (Vodafone Warriors), Junior Paulo (Raiders), Sam Lisone (Vodafone Warriors), James Gavet (Vodafone Warriors). Coach: Matt Parish.

FIJI BATI | Kevin Naiqama (Wests Tigers); Tyrone Phillips (Bulldogs), Waqa Blake (Panthers), Brayden Williame (Sea Eagles), Marcelo Montoya (Bulldogs); Sitveni Moceidreke (North Sydney Bears), Henry Raiwalui (Wenwtworthville Magpies); Junior Roqica (Sharks), Apisai Koroisau (Sea Eagles), Kane Evans (Roosters); Viliame Kikau (Panthers), Eloni Vunakece (Roosters); Korbin Sims (Knights). Interchange: Erevonu (Tui) Kamikamica (Storm), Petero Nakubuwai (Storm), Pio Seci (Fiji), James Storer (Port Kembla). Coach: Mick Potter.

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners