You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

First-time selections David Fusitu’a and Solomone Kata are among six players from the Vodafone Warriors’ 2016 squad named today for the Kiwis’ coming Test against the Kangaroos in Perth and the following Four Nations tournament.

Fusitu’a and Kata join standoff Thomas Leuluai, halfback Shaun Johnson, back rower Simon Mannering and hooker Issac Luke.

Kata (21) has been outstanding in his first two seasons in the NRL, topping the team’s try-scoring list both years in totalling 27 tries in 45 appearances. He’s now in line for his Kiwi Test debut after previously playing at international level for Mate Ma’a Tonga.

Fusitu’a, 22 on October 16, also comes into the Kiwis after representing Tonga in this year’s Pacific Test against Toa Samoa. Fusitu’a, who made his NRL debut in 2014, had his most intensive campaign this year appearing in 18 matches and scoring 11 tries to lift his career tally to 20 in 33 matches. He also underlined his versatility by playing on the wing, in the centres and at fullback.

The Wigan-bound Leuluai, Johnson, Mannering and Luke are among the Kiwis’ most experienced internationals with a total of more than 120 Tests between them.

With long-serving Kiwi coach Stephen Kearney now joining the Vodafone Warriors, his successor David Kidwell today included three other newcomers in the touring squad - Penrith's Te Maire Martin and the Canberra duo Jordan Rapana and Joseph Tapine.

Kidwell also confirmed Melbourne's Jesse Bromwich as captain.

Recalled after a three-year absence is Sydney Roosters prop Jared Waerea-Hargreaves.

If selected to play on tour, one of the five newcomers has the opportunity to become Kiwi #800.

“All of these players have shown exciting form during the NRL season and have certainly earned their selection on merit,” says Kidwell.

“But we’re always looking one step ahead, whether that’s to next year’s World Cup or beyond, and we also think all these players can play a big part in keeping the Kiwis on top for many years to come.

“In picking this team, we’ve tried to achieve a balance between players who are proven at test level and those that are the future of the Kiwis' programme. Injuries play an unfortunate part in our game and some of these newcomers will get an immediate opportunity to show they’re ready for the next level.”

Players unavailable for the up-coming campaign include Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Peta Hiku, Dean Whare, Kieran Foran, Ben Matulino, Alex Glenn and Kodi Nikorima.

Kidwell opted to retain Bromwich (Kiwi #775) as his captain, continuing the role he filled against Australia at Newcastle in May.

“Jesse did a great job leading the team earlier this year in Simon’s absence and, at this stage of his career, I think Simon is just as happy not having the weight of captaincy on him,” says Kidwell.

“But, ultimately, they will both be part of a strong leadership group that set a strong culture for this team.”

The Kiwis will assemble in Perth next weekend for the Test against Australia on October 15.

They open their Four Nations account against host England on Sunday, October 30 (NZ time) at Huddersfield, followed by Australia (November 6) and Scotland (November 12).


Gerard Beale (Cronulla), 767, 8 Tests

Adam Blair (Brisbane), 732, 35 Tests

Jesse Bromwich (Melbourne), 775, 18 Tests

Lewis Brown (Manly), 762, 10 Tests

Greg Eastwood (Canterbury Bankstown), 737, 24 Tests

David Fusitu'a (Vodafone Warriors)

Tohu Harris (Melbourne), 778, 11 Tests

Shaun Johnson (Vodafone Warriors), 774, 15 Tests

Jordan Kahu (Brisbane), 790, 4 Tests

Solomone Kata (Vodafone Warriors)

Shaun Kenny-Dowall (Sydney Roosters), 746, 17 Tests

Thomas Leuluai (Vodafone Warriors), 704, 34 Tests

Issac Luke (Vodafone Warriors), 749, 36 Tests

Simon Mannering (Vodafone Warriors), 731, 41 Tests

Te Maire Martin (Penrith)

Manu Ma'u (Parramatta), 795, 1 Test

Jason Nightingale (St George Illawarra), 747, 29 Tests

Kevin Proctor (Melbourne), 771, 12 Tests

Jordan Rapana (Canberra)

Joseph Tapine (Canberra)

Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland), 786, 5 Tests

Martin Taupau (Manly), 785, 10 Tests

Jared Waerea-Hargreaves (Sydney Roosters), 755, 17 Tests

Dallin Watene-Zelezniak (Penrith), 794, 1 Test



(GMT times listed)

October 28, 8.00pm | Australia v Scotland, KC Lightstream Stadium, Hull

October 29, 2.30pm | England v New Zealand, John Smith’s Stadium, Huddersfield

November 5, 5.30pm | England v Scotland, Ricoh Arena, Coventry

November 5, 8.00pm | New Zealand v Australia, Ricoh Arena, Coventry

November 11, 8.00pm | New Zealand v Scotland, Zebra Claims Stadium, Workington

November 13, 2.00pm | England v Australia, London Olympic Stadium, London

November 20, 2.30pm | Final, Anfield, Liverpool

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners