You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Prop Albert Vete is one of six Vodafone Warriors named in Tonga's train-on squad. Image |

Six Vodafone Warriors have been named in the Mate Ma’a Tonga train-on squad to prepare for the World Cup qualifier against the Cook Islands at Campbelltown Sports Stadium on October 17.

Rookie NRL prop Albert Vete is joined by Sione Lousi, John Palavi, Sebastine Ikahihifo, Siliva Havili and David Fusitu'a.

Also included in the squad is former Vodafone Warrior Ukuma Ta’ai, now with Huddersfield in the Super League, former Vodafone Junior Warriors Nafe Seluini and Malakai Houma and former NRL squad member Saulala Houma.

Seluini is playing Queensland Cup football with the Burleigh Bears while the Houma brothers are with the Newtown Jets in the New South Wales Cup.  

Cook Islands coach and ex-Kiwi Alex Chan has also named a preliminary train-on squad which includes former Vodafone Junior Warrior Eric Newbigging.

Train-on squads:

TONGA | Antonio Kaufusi, Danny Fualalo (Bulldogs); Leva Li (Titans); Jorge Taufua, Siosaia Vave, Tony Satini (Sea Eagles); Peni Terepo, Vai Toutai, John Folau (Eels); Leilani Latu, Ben Murdoch-Masila, Sika Manu, Daniel Foster, Malakai Watene-Zelezniak (Panthers); Anthony Tupou, David Fifita, Saulala Houma, Malakai Houma, Pat Politoni (Sharks); Michael Oldfield (Rabbitohs); Vaha Pulu, Willie Manu (Roosters); Albert Vete, Sione Lousi, John Palavi, Sebastine Ikahihifo, Siliva Havili, David Fusitu'a (Vodafone Warriors); Sitaleki Akauola, Asipeli Fine, Joel Luani, Salesi Funaki, Delouise Hoeter (Wests Tigers); Ukuma Ta’ai (Huddersfield); Fui Fui Moi Moi (Leigh); Atelea Vea (St Helens); Mickey Paea (Hull FC); Nafe Seluini (Burleigh); Charlie Faingaa (Redcliffe).

COOK ISLANDS | Francis Molo (Broncos), Makahesi Makatoa (Bulldogs), Jordan Rapana (Raiders), Ezra Howe junior (Raiders), Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad (Storm), Aaron Teroi (Storm), Eric Newbigging (Eels), Tupou Sopoaga (Panthers), Tinirau Arona (Sharks), Wallace Tangiiti (Rabbitohs), Reuben Porter (Roosters), Chance Peni (Wests Tigers), Esan Marsters (Wests Tigers), Anthony Gelling (Wigan), Adam Tangata (Halifax), Fred Pakutoa (Wentworthville Magpies), Drury Low (Narellan), John Papalii (West Belconnen).

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners