You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Vote now for Vodafone Warrior Konrad Hurrell who’s among the 14 nominees in the running to be awarded the Ken Stephen Medal.

Voting is open HERE for Vodafone Warriors members and fans to give Konrad their support.

The Ken Stephen Medal recognises the efforts of the NRL player who has made an outstanding contribution in the community.

After forming a connection with a young girl named Leka Ma'u, who was diagnosed with cancer, Konrad has become a dedicated advocate and supporter of the Cure Kids campaign.

Through his efforts he attracted substantial media attention to the cause, bringing it to the forefront of public discussion.

A highlight of this support included Konrad dedicating several months to growing a beard in order to shave it off to raise money for the charity. He also enlisted team-mates Sam Tomkins and Ben Matulino to join him.

Beyond his charity work, Konrad is truly concerned for the welfare of players and wider society. This spirit of care comes through in every interaction he has, whether it be with an opposing team member or sick child.

Nominees for the Ken Stephen Medal are:

Matt Gillett | Brisbane Broncos
Trent Hodkinson | Canterbury Bulldogs
Michael Ennis | Cronulla Sharks
Luke Douglas | Gold Coast Titans
Dayne Weston | Melbourne Storm
Josh Starling | Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles
Tariq Sims | Newcastle Knights
Michael Morgan | North Queensland Cowboys
Tim Mannah | Parramatta Eels
Jeremy Latimore | Penrith Panthers
Joel Thompson | St George Illawarra Dragons
Jake Friend | Sydney Roosters
Konrad Hurrell | Vodafone Warriors
Keith Galloway | Wests Tigers

“The Ken Stephen Medal is one of the highest honours that our game can bestow on a player and we’ve seen some very deserving players awarded over the years,” said NRL head of community Adam Check.

“The quality of this year’s nominees is outstanding and their commitment to serving their communities is something for all of us to strive for and certainly in line with our game’s core values of excellence, courage, inclusiveness and teamwork.”

The Ken Stephen Medal will be awarded during the Dally Ms on Monday, September 28. Voting is open now and will close on September 27.

Fans are urged to learn more about the nominees and their work in the community, as well as cast their vote HERE.

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners