You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Semisi Tyrell (R of the Junior Warriors is tackled by Ryan James of the Junior Dragons during the NRL Rugby League Holden Cup match between the Junior Warriors & Junior Dragons at the Westpac Stadium in Wellington on Saturday the 8th August 2015. Copyright Photo

Finals football is in focus for the eighth straight season for the Vodafone Junior Warriors as they count down to their NYC elimination final against the Sydney Roosters at Allianz Stadium on Friday (5.15pm kick-off local time; 7.15pm NZT).

The defending NYC premiers sealed seventh spot after the regular season with their 30-14 victory over Canterbury-Bankstown yesterday.

The Vodafone Warriors remain the only club to reach the competition’s finals every season since it started in 2008. During that time the club has reached the grand final four times, winning the title in 2010, 2011 and 2014.

Friday night’s encounter match will be the Vodafone Junior Warriors’ 21st finals match. Of the 20 they have played so far they have won 15 and lost five.

The Kelvin Wright-coached side’s game against the sixth-placed Roosters will be the curtain-raiser to the NRL qualifying final between the minor premiership-winning Roosters and the Melbourne Storm.

The regular season NYC meetings between the Vodafone Junior Warriors and the Roosters were split with the away team winning on each occasion; the Roosters won 38-22 at Mount Smart Stadium on June 13 while the Vodafone Junior Warriors prevailed 42-20 at Allianz Stadium.

Also in finals action again this week will be the club’s Stacey Jones-coached New South Wales Cup side.

After losing their week one finals match against the Mounties on Saturday, the Vodafone Warriors take on Canterbury-Bankstown in an elimination play-off at Jubilee Oval in Kogarah next Sunday (6.10pm local time; 8.10pm NZT).

For information about tickets for the NRL finals visit



Friday, September 11

Allianz Stadium

NRL Qualifying Final: (1) Sydney Roosters v (4) Melbourne Storm, 7.55pm

NYC Elimination Final: (6) Sydney Roosters v (7) Vodafone Warriors, 5.15pm

Saturday, September 12

ANZ Stadium

NRL Elimination Final: (5) Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs v (8) St George Illawarra Dragons, 5.50pm

NYC Qualifying Final: (1) Penrith Panthers v (4) Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles, 3.10pm

Saturday, September 12

Suncorp Stadium

NRL Qualifying Final: (2) Brisbane Broncos v (3) North Queensland Cowboys, 7.55pm

NYC Qualifying Final: (2) Nth Queensland Cowboys v (3) Brisbane Broncos, 5.15pm

Sunday, September 13

Allianz Stadium

NRL Elimination Final: (6) Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks v (7) South Sydney Rabbitohs, 4.10pm

NYC Qualifying Final: (5) Wests Tigers v (8) Canberra Raiders, 1.30pm



Sunday, September 13

Jubilee Oval

Semi Final: (3) Penrith Panthers v (7) Newcastle Knights, 4.00pm (winners to play Mounties in week three)

Semi-final: (4) Vodafone Warriors v (5) Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, 6.10pm (winners to play Wyong in week three)




St George Illawarra | Won 47-20

Penrith | Won 38-4

Brisbane | Lost 26-28


St George Illawarra | Lost 24-48


Manly | Won 25-22

Canterbury-Bankstown | Won 23-16

South Sydney | Won 42-28 (grand final)


Newcastle | Won 54-6

Canterbury-Bankstown | Won 64-0

North Queensland | Won 31-30 (grand final)


Canberra | Lost 38-39

Sydney Roosters | Lost 10-26


South Sydney | Won 20-18

Sydney Roosters | Won 58-6

Canterbury-Bankstown | Won 54-38

Penrith | Lost 30-42 (grand final)


Sydney Roosters | Won 44-30

Newcastle | Won 23-16

Parramatta | Won 29-26

Brisbane | Won 34-32 (grand final)

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners