You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Howick Hornets second rower Dion Snell won the Fox Memorial Lion Red Player of the Year at the Auckland Rugby League awards dinner last night. Image |

Howick Hornets second-rower Dion Snell has capped off a breakthrough year by being named 2014 Appliance Shed Fox Memorial Lion Red Player of the Year.

Snell was the outright winner at the Auckland Rugby League awards held at Alexandra Park last night, taking the prize ahead of a host of former NRL and Test stars currently playing in the Fox.

In his third year playing in the competition, 20-year-old Snell took his game to another level this season thanks to an increased knowledge of the game to accompany his powerful style and sheer physical presence.

Howick Hornets coach Zebastian Luisi said it was reward for a season of dedication and sacrifice from Snell.

“Dion has always had raw talent, raw power, raw everything,” Luisi said.

“But he took it upon himself to learn the game and do what he does best. He took everything on board and it has obviously paid off.

“He didn’t think anything of it when he got nominated for Player of the Year, because the quality of players who were nominated meant it could have gone to anyone.

“He has every chance to step up now and move on to something more in rugby league.”

Despite experiencing an indifferent year in regards to on-field success, players from the Otahuhu Leopards claimed two major awards.

Twenty-year-old Teuila Fotu-Moala took out the Female Player of the Year award, and Jamal Hunt, 18, won the Kahawai Productions Rookie of the Year.

After guiding Pt Chevalier to the minor premiership as well as this Saturday’s grand final, Grant Pocklington was named Coach of the Year, while his fullback Siua Otunuku was the competition’s highest try scorer with 24 regular season tries.

The SAS Sharman Cup Player of the Year went to Te Atatu forward Sala Falelua, who had a large contingent of family and friends turn out to applaud him on the night.

The Mandron Masonry Phelan Shield Player of the Year was Pakuranga halfback Virgil Tangohau, who in his first year playing in the competition has taken his team through to the grand final against Mt Wellington.

Special guests on the night included MP for Mt Roskill Phil Goff, Sir Peter Leitch KNZM QSM and Cathy Friend QSM, who this year became the first ever female to be made a life member of the New Zealand Rugby League.

Full list of ARL award winners

Club Volunteer of the Year | Bill Norrie (Te Atatu)

Club Administrator of the Year | Niki Wallace (Northcote)

Club of the Year | Mt Wellington

Mandron Masonry Phelan Shield Nominated Players of the Year:

Glenfield | Dan Rogers

Hibiscus Coast | Ethan McGuire

Mt Wellington | Taylor Smith

Navy | Sam Dickey

Pakuranga | Virgil Tangohau

Ponsonby | Stuart Ta’avao 

Pukekohe | Roland Helling

Mandron Masonry Phelan Shield Player of the Year | Virgil Tangohau

SAS Sharman Cup Nominated Players of the Year:

Bay Roskill | Steve Smith

East Coast Bays | Alan Zaharia

Ellerslie | Andrew Bob

Manurewa | King Vuniyayawa

Manukau | Bradley McGregor

New Lynn | Kyle Neal

Otara | Saipani Aiolupo

Papatoetoe | Peter Bell

Te Atatu | Sala Falelua

Waitemata | Ali Lata

SAS Sharman Cup Player of the Year | Sala Falelua

Appliance Shed Fox Memorial Nominated Players of the Year:

Glenora | Ben McCallum

Howick | Dion Snell 

Mangere East | Zion Tesese

Marist | Kaleni Fraser

Mt Albert | Tulson Caird

Northcote | Mao Uta

Otahuhu | Sione Feao

Papakura | William Stowers

Pt Chevalier | Siua Otunuku

Richmond | Karl Simeti

Kiwi Shield | Pt Chevalier

Konica Minolta Roope Rooster | Pt Chevalier

Referee of the Year | Shane Rehm

Female Player of the Year | Teuila Fotu-Moala (Otahuhu)

Lance Painter Rose Bowl Goal Kicker of the Year | Cody Walker (Mt Albert) 90 goals

Masters Rugby League Cup Try Scorer of the Year | Siua Otunuku (Pt Chevalier) 24 tries

Rookie of the Year | Jamal Hunt (Otahuhu)

Coach of the Year | Grant Pocklington (Pt Chevalier)

Appliance Shed Fox Memorial Team of the Year:

Fullback | Siua Otunuku (Pt Chevalier)

Winger | Saula Solomona (Pt Chevalier)

Centre | Josh Tamaseu-Russell (Marist)

Five-eighth | William Stowers (Papakura)

Halfback | Simon Ieremia (Marist)

Prop | Kaleni Fraser (Marist)

Hooker | Tevita Latu (Pt Chevalier)

Second-rower | Dion Snell (Howick)

Lock | Tulson Caird (Mt Albert)

Appliance Shed Fox Memorial Lion Red Player of the Year | Dion Snell (Howick)


Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners