You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

While the Vodafone Warriors still have two games to go in their bid to make the NRL finals, the club’s 20th annual awards night is already all but sold out.

More than 800 guests will attend the biggest social event on the Vodafone Warriors’ calendar being held in the New Zealand Room at the SKYCITY Convention Centre on Tuesday, September 16.

To mark the 20th anniversary, the gala event has been revamped and renamed the Vodafone Warriors RED BALL Awards.

A special feature will be recognising the best of the best from each of the club’s three teams playing in the NRL, NYC and New South Wales Cup competitions.

Since the NYC started in 2008 the Vodafone Warriors have held separate awards events until now for the NRL and NYC teams; this is the first year of the Vodafone Warriors’ ownership of the NSW Cup side.

“As we celebrate 20 seasons in existence it’s an ideal time to bring the whole club together to celebrate our top achievers,” said chief executive Wayne Scurrah.

“This will be a truly special occasion featuring the newly-struck RED BALL awards which will be presented to our winners. It’s a great night for the club, an exclusive opportunity to get up close and personal with our players.” 

The evening will start with a red carpet and pre-show cocktail hour followed by a three-hour awards show and dinner plus live entertainment.

An array of award winners will be feted culminating in the naming of the club’s supreme NRL Player of the Year; captain Simon Mannering won the accolade last year, becoming the first three-time winner in the club’s history after earlier being singled out on 2008 and 2011.

Only a handful of tables are still available for the Vodafone Warriors RED BALL Awards. Anyone interested in buying a table (10 guests | $2500 plus GST) should contact Vodafone Warriors event manager Holly Dean via or phone +64 9 526 7825.




1995   Tea Ropati

1996   Stephen Kearney

1997   Stacey Jones

1998   Joe Vagana

1999   Jason Death

2000   Robert Mears

2001   Jerry Seuseu

2002   Ali Lauitiiti

2003   Francis Meli

2004   Wairangi Koopu

2005   Ruben Wiki

2006   Steve Price

2007   Steve Price

2008   Simon Mannering

2009   Micheal Luck

2010   Manu Vatuvei

2011   Simon Mannering

2012   Ben Matulino

2013   Simon Mannering

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners