You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Vodafone Warrior Ngani Laumape (pictured) scored a try and kicked two goals in the Vulcans' loss to Newtown in the New South Wales Cup on Saturday. Photo: Photosport

A three-week break from football did the Auckland Vulcans few favours as they fell to a 26-40 loss to Newtown in their New South Wales Cup encounter at Henson Park on Saturday.

The sixth-placed Vulcans hadnt been in action since handing competition leader Cronulla its first and only defeat of the season so far on June 30 while the fifth-placed Jets were coming off wins in the previous two weeks.

Supposedly freshened up after their time off the Vulcans exploded with three tries in quick order to lead the home side 14-0 after 25 minutes but, in a blink, the lead vanished as Newtown surged to the halftime break with three tries to lead 16-14.

In the opening minutes of the second half the Vulcans roared ahead again via a Siliva Havili try converted by Ngani Laumape.

At 20-16 they at least had a platform to build from again but it wasnt to be.

Instead Newtown hit them with five tries all too quickly and easily to bolt to a commanding 40-20 lead.

It was dented slightly by a Laumape try at the death but the damage had well and truly been done.

Featuring among Newtowns scorers were former Vodafone Junior Warriors Adam Henry, Kurt Kara and Nafe Seluini.

The Vulcans are on the road again next weekend, travelling to Wollongong to meet the Illawarra Cutters next Saturday.

Match details:

At Henson Park, Sydney

Newtown Jets 40 (Ryley Jacks 2, Adam Henry 2, Kurt Kara, Nafe Seluini, Henare Wells, Yileen Gordon tries; Paul Rokolati 4 conversions).

Auckland Vulcans 26 (Tangi Ropati 2, Sio Siua Taukeiaho, Siliva Havili, Ngani Laumape tries; Ngani Laumape 2 conversions; Sio Siua Taukeiaho conversion).

Halftime: 16-14 Jets.

Referee: Liam Nicholls.

Vulcans: David Fusitua; Tangi Ropati, Ngani Laumape, Sio Siua Taukeiaho, Atelea Nafetalai; Carlos Tuimavave, Pita Godinet; Daniel Palavi, Alehana Mara, Sebastine Ikahihifo; John Palavi, Sam Lousi; David Bhana. Interchange: Albert Vete, Siliva Havili, Raymond Faitala-Mariner, Nathaniel Peteru.
Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners