You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Capewell starting for Maroons in Origin decider

One New Zealand Warriors back rower Kurt Capewell has been brought into Queensland's starting lineup for the series-deciding third State of Origin match at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane on July 17.

After being out injured for the opening victory in Sydney, Capewell was used from the bench in the Maroons' 18-38 loss in Origin II in Melbourne.

Coach Billy Slater has today named him to start in what will be his 11th Origin appearance as the Maroons strive for another series victory on Wednesday week.

The 30-year-old first-year Warrior was used for a total of 37 minutes in two interchange stints at the MCG making 42 metres from five runs and 12 tackles with one miss.

Since being sidelined with a calf injury, Capewell returned with four appearances for the Warriors, used off the bench against the Cowboys and the Storm before playing 66 minutes in the 32-16 win over his old Brisbane side and all 89 minutes in Saturday's epic golden point loss to the Bulldogs.

While he started in the second row against Canterbury Bankstown an acute injury toll to the Warriors' outside backs saw him switched to the centres and wing for much of the contest (he made 126 metres and 34 tackles).

As well as moving Capewell into the second row, Slater has recalled Knights duo Kalyn Ponga and Dane Gagai.

Ponga has been named on the interchange bench after making his return from injury with the Knights on Sunday and will make his first Origin appearance since game three in 2022.

With Murray Taulagi nursing a hamstring injury, Val Holmes shifts to the wing and Gagai comes into the centres for his 23rd Origin game and his first since the 2022 decider.

After sitting out game two with injury, Broncos star Selwyn Cobbo returns to the side in place of Xavier Coates, who has been ruled out with a hamstring injury.

Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow has been named and is expected to be right for the game after suffering an AC joint (shoulder) injury in Melbourne during Game Two.

1 Reece Walsh (Broncos)
2 Selwyn Cobbo (Broncos)
3 Dane Gagai (Knights)
4 Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow (Dolphins)
5 Val Holmes (Cowboys)
6 Tom Dearden (Cowboys)
7 Daly Cherry-Evans (Sea Eagles) captain
8 Reuben Cotter (Cowboys)
9 Ben Hunt (Dragons)
10 Lindsay Collins (Roosters)
11 Kurt Capewell (One New Zealand Warriors)
12 Jeremiah Nanai (Cowboys)
13 Patrick Carrigan (Broncos)
14 Harry Grant (Storm)
15 Moeaki Fotuaika (Titans)
16 Felise Kaufusi (Dolphins)
17 Kalyn Ponga (Knights)
18 Trent Loiero (Storm)
19 Brendan Piakura (Broncos)
20 Reed Mahoney (Bulldogs)
Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners