You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Searching for first win over Storm since 2015

Look no further than Melbourne for the ultimate example of one club enjoying dominance over its opponents.

The Storm have routinely handed several teams lengthy losing runs but nothing to compare to the disappointment they’ve caused the One New Zealand Warriors over the last eight seasons.

Heading into tonight’s second-round clash between the two rivals at AAMI Park, the Storm are sitting on a sequence of 14 consecutive wins, the Warriors’ longest losing run against any club.

The last time they beat Melbourne was at Go Media Stadium on July 12, 2015, when the home side prevailed 28-14 in one of the most unforgettable games in the club’s history; the prime exhibit that day was Nathan Friend’s extraordinary upside-down, between the legs off load that led to an astonishing  Tuimoala Lolohea try.

The last time the Warriors won in Melbourne was their 16-10 Anzac Day victory in 2014, Andrew McFadden’s debut win as head coach.

Perhaps an even more graphic demonstration of the Storm’s series of successes can be found among current One New Zealand Warriors' playing records against them, not just when playing for the Warriors but also for other clubs.

Horrible for me. I haven't beaten them many times

Mitchell Barnett One New Zealand Warriors prop

It came to mind at the Warriors’ media session this week when prop Mitchell Barnett was asked what it was like to face the Storm.

“Horrible for me. I haven’t beaten them many times I don’t think, maybe since 20s,” he said.

Indeed, not once at NRL level. Before joining the Warriors he had seven appearances for Newcastle against the Storm and tasted defeat each time (injury denied him playing for his new club against Melbourne on Anzac Day last year).

And spare a thought for long-time Warriors forwards Bunty Afoa and Jazz Tevaga; Afoa hasn’t had a win in 10 attempts and Tevaga has gone eight games without success.

The 19 players retained in the Warriors' game day squad for tonight’s 51st match between the two clubs can count a total of 142 appearances against the Storm – but a sobering tally of just 20 wins between them.

Shaun Johnson has four of those himself, all coming in his first six games against the Storm starting with the 20-12 finals triumph at AAMI Park in his rookie campaign in 2011.

Dylan Walker had four wins across 13 Melbourne contests with South Sydney and Manly Warringah while Roger Tuivasa-Sheck had three wins in six attempts when he was with the Sydney Roosters but he’s 0-9 as a Warrior.

The most successful has been new signing Kurt Capewell with five wins in 12 matchups against the Storm for the Sharks, Panthers and Broncos.

Apart from Barnett, Afoa and Tevaga, the others without a win against Melbourne so far are Marcelo Montoya (0-8), Rocco Berry (0-1), Luke Metcalf (0-1), Tohu Harris (0-6) – he was 4-3 as a Storm player against the Warriors – Freddy Lussick (0-2), Tom Ale (0-2) and Chanel Harris-Tavita (0-5). Fullback Taine Tuaupiki is poised to face the Storm for the first time.


Taine Tuaupiki | 0 games
Watene-Zelezniak | 11 games (Penrith 1-5, Bulldogs 0-2, Warriors 0-3)
Rocco Berry | 1 game (Warriors 0-1)
Roger Tuivasa-Sheck | 15 games (Roosters 3-3, Warriors 0-9)
Marcelo Montoya | 8 games (Bulldogs 0-3, Warriors 0-5)
Luke Metcalf | 1 game (Sharks 0-1)
Shaun Johnson | 18 games (Warriors 4-8, Sharks 0-3, Warriors 0-3)
Addin Fonua-Blake | 13 games (Sea Eagles 2-7, Warriors 0-4)
Mitchell Barnett | 7 games (Knights 0-7)
Jackson Ford | 2 games (Dragons 1-0, Warriors 0-1)
Kurt Capewell | 12 games (Sharks 2-2, Panthers 2-2, Broncos 1-3)
Tohu Harris | 6 games (Warriors 0-6)
Freddy Lussick | 2 games (Roosters 0, Warriors 0-2)
Tom Ale | 2 games (Warriors 0-2)
Bunty Afoa | 10 games (Warriors 0-10)
Dylan Walker | 14 games (Rabbitohs 1-2, Sea Eagles 3-7, Warriors 0-1)
Jazz Tevaga | 8 games (Warriors 0-8)
Te Maire Martin | 7 games (Panthers 0-1, Cowboys 0-5, Broncos 0-1)
Chanel Harris-Tavita | 5 games (Warriors 0-5)


Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners