You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Match Report: Another big SG Ball Cup victory

For the second time this season the One New Zealand Warriors topped 40 points with a big win over South Sydney in their fourth-round SG Ball Cup (under-19) encounter at Redfern Oval on Sunday.

The 44-14 victory capped a memorable double for the club following the Harold Matthews Cup side’s historic first win in the under-17 curtain raiser.

The Grant Pocklington-coached Warriors went into today’s SG Ball contest on the back of a 16-32 loss to the Sydney Roosters last Sunday.

In their third away match in the opening four rounds, the Warriors conceded a third-minute try to Souths but then dominated the match.

With tries to hooker JD Auloa, fullback Motu Pasikala, winger Malakai Cama and interchange forward Francis Tuimauga, they built a 22-4 lead at halftime.

Another four tries flowed in the opening 15 minutes of the second spell as they doubled their tally to 44 points without response.

More seemed in store until centre Nganaiaiafu Vake’s sin binning interrupted proceedings with the Rabbitohs scoring the last two tries of the match.

The result leaves the Warriors with two wins and two losses, their previous victory a 48-12 trouncing of North Sydney.

They’re at home next Sunday facing the Balmain Tigers at Navigation Homes Stadium in Pukekohe (11.45am kick-off).

Match details:
Redfern Oval, Sydney

South Sydney Rabbitohs 14 (Jacob Fong, Daniel Lua, Lancelot Tovio tries; Matthew Humphries conversion).
One New Zealand Warriors 44 (Motu Pasikala 2, JD Auloa, Malakai Cama, Francis Tuimauga, Alvin Chong Nee, Kalani Peyroux-Donaldson, Jeriko Filipi-Talisau tries; Maui Winitana-Patelesio 6 conversions).
Halftime: 22-4 One New Zealand Warriors.
One New Zealand Warriors | Motu Pasikala; Malakai Cama, Nganatatafu Vake, Hiraka Waitai-Haenga, Raphael Sio; Jesse Soric, Maui Winitana-Patelesio; Jason Salalilo, JD Auloa (co-captain), Rodney Tuipulotu Vea; Alvin Chong Nee, Kayliss Fatialofa (co-captain); Augustino Filipo. Interchange: Jeriko Filipi-Talisau, Francis Tuimauga, Kalani Peyroux-Donaldson, Te Waaka Popata-Henare. 18th man: Andrew Nansen. Coach | Grant Pocklington.

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners