You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Tamika Upton is set to cap off her stellar season with an international debut after being named as part of a 21-player squad by Harvey Norman Jillaroos coach Brad Donald for the upcoming 2023 Pacific Championships. 

After helping Newcastle clinch back-to-back NRLW premierships with a Karyn Murphy Medal-winning performance, the 2023 Dally M medallist joins Emma Manzelmann and Jess Elliston as the three new faces in the green and gold, following on from their World Cup success last November.

Yasmin Clydsdale and Caitlan Johnston are included after their Grand Final success with the Knights, while five players have been named from the runner-up Titans with Shaylee Bent, Lauren Brown, Jaime Chapman, Shannon Mato and Evania Pelite all joining Elliston in the extended squad.

All up nine of the 10 NRLW clubs are represented in the squad following the competition expanding in 2023. 

“The expanded NRLW premiership has been an outstanding success this year and we will now see the best of the best represent the Jillaroos,” ARLC Chairman Mr Peter V’landys AM said.

“I’d like to congratulate all of these players who thoroughly deserve their selection and will now proudly wear the Australian colours in an exciting tournament for the international game.”

Having gone equal with the now retired Sam Bremner last year at the top of the all-time try-scoring list for the Jillaroos, Roosters centre Isabelle Kelly will have the chance to move into the outright lead during this campaign.

She is selected alongside club teammates Tarryn Aiken, Keeley Davis, Olivia Kernick and Jessica Sergis, with the latter set to overcome the fractured finger which kept her out of the back end of the NRLW season to take part. 

Broncos veteran Ali Brigginshaw is the most experienced player in the group and joins winger Julia Robinson as the only players selected from the Broncos. 

The Jillaroos face the Kiwi Ferns in Townsville on October 14 before meeting them again in Melbourne a fortnight later, marking the first time the trans-Tasman rivals have met since Australia beat New Zealand 54-4 in last year's World Cup final. 

Harvey Norman Jillaroos squad 

Tarryn Aiken (Roosters)
Kezie Apps (Wests Tigers)
Shaylee Bent (Titans)
Ali Brigginshaw (Broncos)
Lauren Brown (Titans)
Jaime Chapman (Titans)
Kennedy Cherrington (Eels)
Yasmin Clydsdale (Knights)
Keeley Davis (Roosters)
Jess Elliston* (Titans)
Caitlan Johnston (Knights)
Isabelle Kelly (Roosters)
Olivia Kernick (Roosters)
Emma Manzelmann* (Cowboys)
Shannon Mato (Titans)
Evania Pelite (Titans)
Julia Robinson (Broncos)
Jessica Sergis (Roosters)
Simaima Taufa (Raiders)
Emma Tonegato (Sharks)
Tamika Upton* (Knights)

* denotes debutante

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners