You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Confirmed Line-up: Late switch made to starting side

One New Zealand Warriors head coach Andrew Webster has made a late switch for tonight’s sixth-round NRL clash against Newcastle at McDonald Jones Stadium (6.15pm kick-off local time; 8.15pm NZT).

After originally being named on the interchange, Josh Curran will now start in the second row replacing the suspended Marata Niukore.

Curran made a match-winning impact in last week's 32-30 triumph over Cronulla-Sutherland. On the field for just 18 minutes, he ran a hard line superbly for the try that enabled the One New Zealand Warriors to level up 30-30.

Then he produced a supreme effort play in the final minute when he swooped on a loose ball, toed it ahead and was then impeded in his bid to secure it leading to the penalty Shaun Johnson slotted for victory.  

Curran's inclusion sees Bayley Sironen joining Dylan Walker, Tom Ale and Taine Tuaupiki on the bench. Young back rower Demitric Sifakule is 18th man.

Yesterday captain Tohu Harris was officially omitted from the squad as he strives to recover from the knee injury he suffered in the 16-14 home win over Canterbury Bankstown on March 26.

Team Lists


  • Fullback for Knights is number 1 Lachlan Miller
    Fullback for Warriors is number 1 Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad
  • Winger for Knights is number 2 Dominic Young
    Winger for Warriors is number 2 Edward Kosi
  • Centre for Knights is number 3 Dane Gagai
    Centre for Warriors is number 3 Viliami Vailea
  • Centre for Knights is number 4 Bradman Best
    Centre for Warriors is number 4 Adam Pompey
  • Winger for Knights is number 5 Greg Marzhew
    Winger for Warriors is number 5 Marcelo Montoya
  • Five-Eighth for Knights is number 6 Phoenix Crossland
    Five-Eighth for Warriors is number 6 Te Maire Martin
  • Halfback for Knights is number 7 Jackson Hastings
    Halfback for Warriors is number 7 Shaun Johnson


  • Prop for Knights is number 8 Daniel Saifiti
    Prop for Warriors is number 8 Addin Fonua-Blake
  • Hooker for Knights is number 9 Jayden Brailey
    Hooker for Warriors is number 9 Wayde Egan
  • Prop for Knights is number 10 Leo Thompson
    Prop for Warriors is number 10 Bunty Afoa
  • 2nd Row for Knights is number 11 Tyson Frizell
    2nd Row for Warriors is number 11 Jackson Ford
  • 2nd Row for Knights is number 12 Lachlan Fitzgibbon
    2nd Row for Warriors is number 15 Josh Curran
  • Lock for Knights is number 16 Mat Croker
    Lock for Warriors is number 16 Jazz Tevaga


  • Interchange for Knights is number 13 Jack Johns
    Interchange for Warriors is number 12 Bayley Sironen
  • Interchange for Knights is number 14 Kurt Mann
    Interchange for Warriors is number 14 Dylan Walker
  • Interchange for Knights is number 15 Jack Hetherington
    Interchange for Warriors is number 17 Tom Ale
  • Interchange for Knights is number 17 Brodie Jones
    Interchange for Warriors is number 20 Taine Tuaupiki


  • Replacement for Knights is number 19 Dylan Lucas
    Replacement for Warriors is number 23 Demitric Sifakula

Match Officials

  • Referee: Liam Kennedy
  • Touch Judge: Drew Oultram
  • Senior Review Official: Adam Gee

Last updated:

Jazz Tevaga, who filled Harris’ position last week, has been brought off the bench to take on the role again.

Fullack Tuaupiki is in line for second NRL appearance after being named to replace Tevaga on the interchange.

Apart from Harris the other two players omitted from the extended squad yesterday were halfback Ronald Volkman and Freddy Lussick.

Te Maire Martin replaces Volkman at standoff after concussion protocols ruled him out of last Sunday’s dramatic 32-20 victory over Cronulla-Sutherland while second rower Marata Niukore is suspended for the next two matches following an early guilty plea on a dangerous contact charge.

Niukore, who scored his first try for the club on Sunday, is replaced by Bayley Sironen with Josh Curran, who made a telling late impact against Cronulla, on the interchange after being a late replacement for Harris last weekend.

Kiwi winger Dallin Watene-Zelezniak is named as 18th man as he returns from the calf injury which side-lined him following the club’s second trial against Melbourne in Christchurch in February.

A significant points-scoring milestone is within reach of player of the moment Johnson tomorrow. After picking up 16 points against the Sharks, he's on 997 points for the One New Zealand Warriors needing just three more to become the first player in history to reach the 1000-point mark for the club.

Johnson nailed the maximum six Dally M points as he orchestrated arguably the most astonishing comeback in the club’s history after being 0-20 behind just 18 minutes into the contest.

It wasn’t the biggest. That belongs to the 2021 side which came back from 21 points down (10-31) after 51 minutes to beat the Raiders 34-31 in Canberra.

The effort against the Sharks equalled the margin in another unforgettable fightback in 2005 when the Warriors also recovered from a 0-20 deficit to win 30-26 in Newcastle.     

The One New Zealand Warriors and Newcastle meet for the second time in the opening six weeks of the season on Sunday.

The Andrew Webster-coached side launched their campaign with a solid 20-12 home win over the Knights at Sky Stadium in Wellington on March 3.

Sunday’s win over the Sharks boosted them to a 4-1 record, a start bettered only by the 2018 side’s 5-0 effort. It had them sitting second on the ladder at the end of the round, matching the 2018 team’s position at the same stage.

The Knights have gone on to produce wins over the Wests Tigers and Canberra plus an extra-time 32-32 draw with Manly Warringah last week.

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners