You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Maroons and Blues name squads for State of Origin I

New Queensland Coach Billy Slater has included four debutants in his 17-man team for game one of the 2022 State of Origin series to be played at Accor Stadium in Sydney on June 8.

North Queensland forwards Reuben Cotter and Jeremiah Nanai have both been rewarded for their strong start to the year with selection in the side, while Broncos winger Selwyn Cobbo is also set to make his Origin debut after just 19 NRL games.

Cobbo will be joined on debut by Broncos forward Patrick Carrigan. Two more players yet to play an Origin match - standoff Thomas Dearden and New Zealand-born winger Murray Taulagi - are included among the five reserves.

Kotoni Staggs and Stephen Crichton will form a new-look centre duo for New South Wales after the Blues named their 22-man squad.

Staggs and Crichton were both named as part of the extended squad by Blues coach Brad Fittler, which also included potential Origin debutants in Sharks halfback Nicho Hynes, Eels forward Ryan Matterson, Knights prop Jacob Saifiti and Roosters young gun Joseph Suaalii

New South Wales

Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Parramatta Eels), Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers), Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Stephen Crichton (Penrith Panthers), Tyson Frizell (Newcastle Knights), Payne Haas (Brisbane Broncos), Nicho Hynes (Cronulla Sharks), Apisai Koroisau (Penrith Panthers), Jarome Luai (Penrith Panthers), Liam Martin (Penrith Panthers), Ryan Matterson (Parramatta Eels), Cameron Murray (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Junior Paulo (Parramatta Eels), Jacob Saifiti (Newcastle Knights), Tariq Sims (St. George-Illawarra Dragons), Kotoni Staggs (Brisbane Broncos), Joseph Suaalii (Sydney Roosters), James Tedesco, capt. (Sydney Roosters), Brian To’o (Penrith Panthers), Daniel Tupou (Sydney Roosters), Jack Wighton (Canberra Raiders), Isaah Yeo (Penrith Panthers).


1 Kalyn Ponga (Newcastle Knights)
2 Selwyn Cobbo (Brisbane Broncos)
3 Valentine Holmes (North Queensland Cowboys)
4 Dane Gagai (Newcastle Knights)
5 Xavier Coates (Melbourne Storm)
6 Cameron Munster (Melbourne Storm)
7 Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles) captain
8 Tino Fa’asuamaleaui (Gold Coast Titans)
9 Ben Hunt (St George-Illawarra Dragons)
10 Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders)
11 Kurt Capewell (Brisbane Broncos)
12 Felise Kaufusi (Melbourne Storm)
13 Reuben Cotter (North Queensland Cowboys)
14 Harry Grant (Melbourne Storm)
15 Lindsay Collins (Sydney Roosters)
16 Patrick Carrigan (Brisbane Broncos)
17 Jeremiah Nanai (North Queensland Cowboys)
18 Thomas Dearden (North Queensland Cowboys)
19 Jai Arrow (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
20 Thomas Flegler (Brisbane Broncos)
21 Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow (North Queensland Cowboys)
22 Murray Taulagi (North Queensland Cowboys)

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners