You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Vote Game Day Saturday

Time to decide which one of three classic Vodafone Warriors matches you want to feature on Game Day Saturday on Sky Sport’s home of rugby league at 3.00pm this Saturday (May 9).

Old Canterbury-Bankstown games are up for voting in a week when the Vodafone Warriors were scheduled to meet the Bulldogs this Friday night before the 2020 season was suspended.

With no footy on right now, we’ve joined forces with Sky Sport to bring supporters a taste of the best from the past.

We’ve already had five games featured on Game Day Saturday:

  • Wests Tigers (28-26 at Leichhardt Oval in 2008)
  • St George Illawarra (44-16 at Mount Smart Stadium 2007)
  • Sydney Roosters (17-16 at Mount Smart Stadium in 2009)
  • Melbourne (28-14 Mount Smart Stadium in 2015)
  • Parramatta (48-0 at Mount Smart Stadium in 2014)

Now it’s over to you, the fans, to vote for the match against the Bulldogs that you’d like to see from the three options below.

Vote for your Game Day Saturday classic match.

August 10, 2002

Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland

While the playoffs were still a few weeks off this was played at finals-like intensity, one of the toughest encounters seen at Mount Smart Stadium.

The Bulldogs came into the contest on the back of 17 consecutive wins but the Vodafone Warriors hung in to secure an outstanding 22-14 victory, a key result that would carry them to the minor premiership.

Two weeks later the Bulldogs were found guilty of salary cap breaches.

Vodafone Warriors 22 (Ivan Cleary, Wairangi Koopu, Francis Meli, David Myles tries; Ivan Cleary 3 conversions).

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs 14 (Hazem El Masri, Matt Utai, Nigel Vagana tries; Hazem El Masri conversion).

Vodafone Warriors | Ivan Cleary; Henry Fa’afili, John Carlaw, Brent Webb, Francis Meli; Lance Hohaia, Stacey Jones (c); Jerry Seuseu, PJ Marsh, Mark Tookey; Ali Lauitiiti, Awen Guttenbeil; Kevin Campion. Interchange: Justin Morgan, David Myles, Logan Swann, Wairangi Koopu.

April 13, 2008

Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland

One of the Vodafone Warriors' best seasons opened indifferently with two wins and two losses – including a shocking 6-52 loss to Manly - ahead of their fifth-round encounter with the Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs.

Lining up for Bulldogs was the young superstar Sonny Bill Williams while the Vodafone Warriors had a Sonny of their own on the bench – the hot prospect Sonny Fai.

It was the home side’s Sonny who excelled on the day, leaving SBW on the ground as he sped away to score one of the Vodafone Warriors’ six tries.

Vodafone Warriors 36 (Manu Vatuvei 2, Patrick Ah Van, Sonny Fai, Lance Hohaia, Ruben Wiki tries; Michael Witt 6 conversions).

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs 16 (Heka Nanai, Luke Patten, Ben Roberts tries; Hazem El Masri 2 conversions).

Vodafone Warriors | Lance Hohaia; Patrick Ah Van, Brent Tate, Ryan Shortland, Manu Vatuvei; Michael Witt, Grant Rovelli; Sam Rapira, Nathan Fien, Ruben Wiki (c); Simon Mannering, Logan Swann; Micheal Luck (c). Interchange: Ian Henderson, Evarn Tuimavave, Epalahame Lauaki, Sonny Fai.

April 10, 2010

ANZ Stadium, Sydney

Another Bulldogs-Vodafone Warriors encounter which delivered a heart-stopping finish. And there have been plenty of them.

This came in the fifth round of the 2010 season, a match which was going the Vodafone Warriors’ way when they held a 24-12 lead in the second half before the Dogs came back to level at 24-24.

Golden point was beckoning but, inside the last minute, Lewis Brown made a break from halfway, kicked ahead, regathered and shifted the ball to Lance Hohaia for the match winner.

Vodafone Warriors 30 (Manu Vatuvei, Brent Tate, Kevin Locke, Jacob Lillyman, Lance Hohaia tries; James Maloney 5 conversions).

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs 24 (Ben Barba, Brett Kimmorley, Luke Patten, Jamal Idris tries; Bryson Goodwin 4 conversions).

Vodafone Warriors | Wade McKinnon; Kevin Locke, Brent Tate (c), Joel Moon, Manu Vatuvei; Lance Hohaia, James Maloney; Sam Rapira, Aaron Heremaia, Jeremy Latimore; Lewis Brown, Ben Matulino; Jacob Lillyman. Interchange: Jesse Royal, Russell Packer, Ukuma Ta’ai, Ian Henderson.

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners