You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Vote for Game Day Saturday

Calling on all fans to choose which one of three classic Vodafone Warriors matches you want to feature on Game Day Saturday on Sky Sport’s home of rugby league at 3.00pm on Saturday (April 25).

This week it’s all about matches against our traditional Anzac Day foes the Melbourne Storm, who we were meant to meet at AAMI Park this Saturday before the 2020 NRL season was suspended.

We’ve joined forces with Sky Sport to bring supporters a taste of the best from the past by making Game Day Saturday appointment viewing.

Aired so far have been wins over the Wests Tigers (28-26 at Leichhardt Oval in 2008), St George Illawarra (44-16 at Mount Smart Stadium 2007) and the Sydney Roosters (17-16 at Mount Smart Stadium in 2009).

Now it’s over to you, the fans, to vote for the match against the Storm that you’d like to see from the three options below.

Place your vote right here.

April 25, 2011

AAMI Park, Melbourne

The Vodafone Warriors added another chapter to their catalogue of courageous performances with a stunning defensive performance to beat the in-form Storm 18-14 in the 2011 edition of their annual Anzac Day battle.

In a withering 10-minute burst from the 22nd minute to the 32nd the Vodafone Warriors scored what would prove to be their only points of the game with tries to Krisnan Inu, Jacob Lillyman and Micheal Luck to lead 18-8 at halftime.

In the opening minutes of the second half the margin was just 18-14 after a Cooper Cronk try but the Vodafone Warriors then defended heroically for the next 36 minutes to secure a famous triumph.

Melbourne Storm 14 (Beau Champion, Cooper Cronk tries; Cameron Smith 2 conversions, penalty).

Vodafone Warriors 18 (Krisnan Inu, Jacob Lillyman, Micheal Luck tries; James Maloney 2 conversions, penalty).

Vodafone Warriors | Lance Hohaia; Kevin Locke, Lewis Brown, Simon Mannering, Krisnan Inu; James Maloney, Brett Seymour; Sam Rapira, Aaron Heremaia, Jacob Lillyman; Feleti Mateo, Elijah Taylor; Micheal Luck. Interchange: Alehana Mara, Ben Matulino, Ukuma Ta’ai, Russell Packer.

April 25, 2014

AAMI Park, Melbourne

Courage was on show in abundance in a 16-10 Vodafone Warriors triumph which owed everything to the shoulder-to-shoulder combat they were forced into to protect their line in an enthralling finals-like contest.

They led 12-6 at halftime and just 12-10 only four minutes into the second half as the Storm bombarded them with the heaviest artillery they could muster. From somewhere – and somehow – the Vodafone Warriors summoned unbelievable resolve to absorb and repel everything the Storm threw their way in what became the ultimate arm wrestle.

They had been to these places against the Storm before and did it again now. After 20 minutes of resistance finally they had their chance to put the heat on, created a quite brilliant try for Shaun Johnson and then held on exceptionally to retain the Michael Moore Trophy. It was also new coach Andrew McFadden’s first win since taking over.

Melbourne Storm 10 (Kevin Proctor, Young Tonumaipea tries; Cameron Smith conversion).

Vodafone Warriors 16 (David Fusitu'a, Feleti Mateo, Shaun Johnson tries; Shaun Johnson conversion, penalty).

Vodafone Warriors | Sam Tomkins; David Fusitua, Ben Henry, Ngani Laumape, Manu Vatuvei; Chad Townsendi, Shaun Johnson; Sam Rapira, Nathan Friend, Jacob Lillyman; Jayson Bukuya, Simon Mannering (c); Sebastine Ikahihifo. Interchange: Siliva Havili, Suaia Matagi, Feleti Mateo, Konrad Hurrell.

July 12, 2015

Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland

In an extraordinary contest the Vodafone Warriors beat the Storm 28-14 – their biggest winning margin at Mount Smart Stadium – to regain the Michael Moore Trophy.

With three first half tries, they went to the break 16-0 ahead only to have the score-line trimmed to 16-8 when the Storm struck twice in the opening minutes of the second half. It didn't stay that way for long, the Vodafone Warriors hitting back with an amazing try courtesy of Nathan Friend’s absolutely incredible pass between his legs while he was airborne and upside-down. It was a moment which would become a global sensation.

The lead was out to 20-8, then back to 20-14 but, with anxiety setting in, the Vodafone Warriors went 26-14 ahead through a stunning converted Shaun Johnson try followed by a penalty for a match-clinching 14-point advantage.

Vodafone Warriors 28 (Tuimoala Lolohea 2, David Fusitu’a, Bodene Thompson, Shaun Johnson tries; Shaun Johnson 3 conversions, penalty).

Melbourne Storm 14 (Kenny Bromwich 2, Marika Koroibete tries; Cameron Smith conversion).

Vodafone Warriors | Sam Tomkins; Tuimoala Lolohea, David Fusitu’a, Solomone Kata, Jonathan Wright; Chad Townsend, Shaun Johnson; Albert Vete, Nathan Friend, Ben Matulino; Bodene Thompson, Raymond Faitala-Mariner; Simon Mannering (c). Interchange: Jacob Lillyman, Siliva Havili, Charlie Gubb, Sione Lousi.

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners