You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

With the Maori All Stars having been outgunned by the electric Indigenous team last year, new coach David Kidwell has vowed to fight fire with fire this time.

The promise of dynamic attacking play mixed with the intense cultural passion from both sides means Saturday's clash at Cbus Super Stadium is shaping as a high-octane thriller.

All eyes will be on new Rabbitohs signing Latrell Mitchell, who will wear the No.1 jumper for the Indigenous All Stars and showcase his skills and fitness at fullback. 

The Rundown

Team News

Indigenous All Stars: 1. Latrell Mitchell, 2. Blake Ferguson, 3. James Roberts, 4. Jesse Ramien, 5. Josh Addo-Carr, 6. Jack Wighton, 7. Tyrone Roberts, 8. Josh Kerr, 9. Nathan Peats, 10. Jamayne Taunoa-Brown, 11. Joel Thompson, 12. Wade Graham, 13. David Fifita. Interchange: 14. Connor Watson, 15. Christopher Smith, 16. Zac Saddler, 17. Josh Curran, 18. Alex Johnston, 19. Tyrone Peachey, 20. Tyrell Fuimaono 

Joel Thompson has been named captain, taking over from last year's skipper Cody Walker, who is unavailable after an off-season shoulder reconstruction.

Injuries forced other key players to withdraw from coach Laurie Daley's original squad, including Andrew Fifita (knee surgery) and Adam Elliott (ankle injury). Fellow forward Ryan James copped a devastating blow with his second season-ending ACL rupture in as many years. 

Rookie props Jamayne Taunoa-Brown, who is trialling with the Warriors, and Zac Saddler, a Manly lower-grader, have earned call-ups. Dragons recruit Tyrell Fuimaono, who can play centre or back row, and Canterbury lock Chris Smith were also late additions. Daley has said that his outside backs could be shuffled into the forwards at stages due to a shortage of big men.

Maori All Stars squad: 1. Kalyn Ponga, 2. Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, 3. Esan Marsters-Siavale, 4. Dylan Walker, 5. Bryson Goodwin, 6. Kodi Nikorima, 7. Jahrome Hughes, 8. Jesse Bromwich, 9. Brandon Smith, 10. Adam Blair, 11. Kenneath Bromwich, 12. Briton Nikora, 13. Corey Harawira-Naera. Interchange: 14. Issac Luke, 15. Brad Takairangi, 16. Zane Tetevano, 17. Jordan Riki, 18. Kevin Proctor, 19. Malakai Watene-Zelezniak, 20. Pasami Saulo 

Adam Blair and Dallin Watene-Zelezniak will lead the Maori side. Rabbitohs veteran Bryson Goodwin has been drafted in to replace Raiders winger Bailey Simonsson.

Props James Tamou and Nelson Asofa-Solomona have also withdrawn, being replaced by young Broncos forward Jordan Riki and Knights front-rower Pasami Saulo. There was a question mark over the fitness of Esan Marsters, with the centre coming off an ankle cleanout, but he erased any doubts by featuring in North Queensland's triumphant NRL Nines campaign last weekend.

Team Lists


  • Fullback for Indigenous is number 1 Latrell Mitchell
    Fullback for Maori is number 1 Kalyn Ponga
  • Winger for Indigenous is number 2 Blake Ferguson
    Winger for Maori is number 2 Dallin Watene-Zelezniak
  • Centre for Indigenous is number 3 James Roberts
    Centre for Maori is number 3 Esan Marsters
  • Centre for Indigenous is number 4 Jesse Ramien
    Centre for Maori is number 4 Dylan Walker
  • Winger for Indigenous is number 5 Josh Addo-Carr
    Winger for Maori is number 5 Bryson Goodwin
  • Five-Eighth for Indigenous is number 6 Jack Wighton
    Five-Eighth for Maori is number 6 Kodi Nikorima
  • Halfback for Indigenous is number 7 Tyrone Roberts
    Halfback for Maori is number 7 Jahrome Hughes


  • Prop for Indigenous is number 8 Josh Kerr
    Prop for Maori is number 8 Jesse Bromwich
  • Hooker for Indigenous is number 9 Nathan Peats
    Hooker for Maori is number 9 Brandon Smith
  • Prop for Indigenous is number 10 Jamayne Taunoa-Brown
    Prop for Maori is number 10 Adam Blair
  • 2nd Row for Indigenous is number 11 Joel Thompson
    2nd Row for Maori is number 11 Kenneath Bromwich
  • 2nd Row for Indigenous is number 12 Wade Graham
    2nd Row for Maori is number 12 Briton Nikora
  • Lock for Indigenous is number 13 David Fifita
    Lock for Maori is number 13 Corey Harawira-Naera


  • Interchange for Indigenous is number 14 Connor Watson
    Interchange for Maori is number 14 Issac Luke
  • Interchange for Indigenous is number 15 Chris Smith
    Interchange for Maori is number 15 Brad Takairangi
  • Interchange for Indigenous is number 16 Zac Saddler
    Interchange for Maori is number 16 Zane Tetevano
  • Interchange for Indigenous is number 17 Josh Curran
    Interchange for Maori is number 17 Jordan Riki


  • Reserve for Indigenous is number 18 Alex Johnston
    Reserve for Maori is number 18 Kevin Proctor
  • Reserve for Indigenous is number 19 Tyrone Peachey
    Reserve for Maori is number 19 Malakai Watene-Zelezniak
  • Reserve for Indigenous is number 20 Tyrell Fuimaono
    Reserve for Maori is number 20 Pasami Saulo

Match Officials

  • Referee: Gerard Sutton
  • Referee: Peter Gough
  • Touch Judge: Nick Morel
  • Senior Review Official: Steve Chiddy

Last updated:

Key match-up

Latrell Mitchell v Kalyn Ponga. The young superstars are pitted against each other in a mouthwatering fullback battle. Mitchell is out to impress as he prepares to move into the No.1 role full-time with South Sydney this season. Ponga, meanwhile, didn't play his best at five-eighth in the 2019 All Stars game and will no doubt be determined to make a bigger impact in his preferred position.

For the Indigenous All Stars to win

Speed is the Indigenous side's most lethal attribute and it's how they can run away with the match. Provided their forwards hold firm, the blistering backline featuring Mitchell, Josh Addo-Carr, Blake Ferguson and James Roberts will back themselves to get across the stripe regularly, just as they did in last year's match.

For the Maori All Stars to win

Even without Tamou and Asofa-Solomona, the Maoris are still packed with power up front. Taking advantage of that by rolling up the guts and tiring out their counterparts' limited middle-forward options looks like a solid plan. Second-phase play should flow when fatigue becomes a factor and there's enough strike on the fringes to rack up a winning score.

Stat Attack

In the eight All Stars games so far, the average points per match is 38.25, with one or both teams recording 28 points or more on five occasions. The 2012 clash won 36-28 by the NRL All Stars is the highest-scoring affair, while the World All Stars' 12-8 victory in 2016 is the lowest.

And another thing...

It's fitting that the game will be held on the Gold Coast. The brainchild of former Titans star Preston Campbell, the concept originated on the Glitter Strip 10 years ago. The Indigenous All Stars beat the NRL All Stars 16-12 to kick things off back in 2010.

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners