You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Tedesco tops list of 2019 Dally M award winners

Roosters talisman James Tedesco has been crowned the 2019 Dally M Medal winner in a glittering ceremony at Sydney's Hordern Pavilion.

The superstar NSW and Australian fullback polled 34 votes throughout the season to edge Cameron Smith (31) and Mitchell Moses (29) and claim the game's highest individual honour for the first time.

Tedesco's tally of 34 votes was the highest since Cowboys legend Johnathan Thurston polled 36 to take out the 2007 Dally M Medal.

An array of the game's finest were honoured on league's night of nights, including star Dragons NRLW centre Jess Sergis, who won the female Dally M Medal after a standout NRLW campaign propelled her team to the grand final.

Sergis beat a quality field of nominees which included her team-mate Bo Vette-Walsh, Bronco Millie Boyle and Warriors halfback Charntay Poko.

"I'm so honoured and so grateful to my Dragons family," Sergis said. "We have one more game together this weekend and hopefully we can go all the way."

Sergis secures Women's Dally M Medal

The winner of the Provan-Summons Medal is Bulldogs skipper Josh Jackson for the sportsmanship he showed in consoling Wests Tigers goalkicker Paul Momirovski after he missed a goal to force golden point against the Bulldogs in round 21.

James Tedesco also took out the Peter Frilingos Headline Moment award for his last-ditch try to steal victory for the NSW Blues in the State of Origin decider in Sydney.

Tedesco wins 'Chippy' Frilingos headline moment of the year for Origin series winner

Tearaway Broncos prop Payne Haas earned the Rookie of the Year plaque for his incredible debut season in which he averaged 185 metres per game and scored one of the tries of the year in round 22 against the Panthers.

Melbourne's Craig Bellamy received Coach of the Year after leading the Storm to their third minor premiership in four seasons.

Bellamy beat a hot field of contenders to the title, including Manly's Des Hasler, Parramatta's Brad Arthur and grand final coaches Ricky Stuart and Trent Robinson.

Bellamy said he sees the award as recognition for his entire footy staff at the Storm. "It's a great reward for all our people there who work so hard," Bellamy said.

The prestigious captain of the year award went to Storm legend Cameron Smith, who became the first man to play 400 NRL games and led his side to within one game of another grand final.

The other nominees were Boyd Cordner from the Roosters, Manly's Daly Cherry-Evans, Raiders co-captains Josh Hodgson and Jarrod Croker and the Bulldogs' Josh Jackson.

2019 Dally M team of the year

The 2019 Dally M Team of the Year:

Fullback - James Tedesco (Roosters)

Who else? The sensational Tedesco replaces Warriors captain Roger Tuivasa-Sheck as the reigning Dally M Medallist and Fullback of the Year.

Winger - Ken Maumalo (Warriors)

The athletic Maumalo scored 17 tries this season, the same number as Dally M medal winner Tedesco, to finish equal third on the tryscoring table behind Maika Sivo and Latrell Mitchell.

Centre - Latrell Mitchell (Roosters)

Mitchell experienced turbulence during the season - notably being left out of the NSW team - but his undeniable class often prevailed in crucial moments.

Five-eighth - Cameron Munster (Storm)

Munster shot out of the blocks and maintained his good form in the second half of the year to kick clear of Rooster Luke Keary and Raider Jack Wighton.

Halfback - Mitchell Moses (Eels)

After showing glimpses previously, Moses became the fully-fledged controlling halfback Parramatta craved in 2019 to eclipse Daly Cherry-Evans and Chad Townsend for this award.

Prop - Payne Haas (Broncos)

Powerful and agile, Haas has a huge career ahead of him. Canberra hero Josh Papalii and Newcastle enforcer David Klemmer also polled well.

Hooker - Cameron Smith (Storm)

The record-breaking rake defied age to easily claim the hooking spot ahead of Damien Cook.

Second-row - John Bateman (Raiders)

The affable Englishman pipped Wests Tigers forward Ryan Matterson to nab Team of the Year honours in his maiden NRL season.

Lock - Cameron Murray (Rabbitohs) 

The 21-year-old Murray beat out Cowboys powerhouse Jason Taumalolo, just reward for his consistency.

Interchange - Brandon Smith (Storm)

Unable to start at hooker due to namesake Cameron Smith, Brandon proved his value coming from the bench to jump Manase Fainu and Braden Hamlin-Uele into the Dally M team.


Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners