You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Nine confirmed for Junior Kiwis

Vodafone Warriors players comprise almost half the under-19 Junior Kiwis squad to play the Australian Schoolboys in Brisbane on Sunday, September 29.

The club’s Sonny Fai Medal winner and Jersey Flegg Cup player of the year Paul Turner heads a nine-man cast which also includes well-established Vodafone Junior Warriors Kayal Iro and Tyler Slade.

Turner, who turned 19 in July, has been playing in the under-20 competition since 2017, amassing 40 appearances. He has also played a grade up in the club’s Canterbury Cup side.

Slade and Iro are three-season under-20 players as well, each making 39 appearances in the grade since 2017 as well as having experience at Canterbury Cup level.

The other six Vodafone Warriors players named are all in the early stages of their under-20 careers, winger Selestino Ravutaumada, Sione Moala and Isaiah Vagana all debuting this year while Temple Kalepo, Emanuel Tuimavave-Gerrard and Junior Pua became Jersey Flegg regulars this season after being introduced last year.

When the initial 25-man Junior Kiwis squad was announced it included Paramatta star Dylan Brown but, with Eels still alive in the NRL finals, he has been ruled out.



11.00am (1.00pm NZT), Sunday, September 29, 2019

Dolphin Stadium, Brisbane



Kayal Iro (Vodafone Warriors)

Temple Kalepo (Vodafone Warriors)

Asu Kepaoa (Sydney Roosters)

Spencer Leniu (Penrith Panthers)

Etu Vinny Lui (Parramatta Eels)

Christian Ma’anaima (Newcastle Knights)

Sione Moala (Vodafone Warriors)

Griffin Neame (North Queensland Cowboys)

Selestino Ravutaumada (Vodafone Warriors)

Junior Pua (Vodafone Warriors)

Jordan Riki (Brisbane Broncos)

Tyler Slade (Vodafone Warriors)

Vito Tevaga (Cronulla Sharks)

Daniel Ticehurst (Newcastle Knights)

Matthew Timoko (Canberra Raiders)

Starford Toa (Newcastle Knights)

Emanuel Tuimavave-Gerrard (Vodafone Warriors)

Paul Turner (Vodafone Warriors)

Isaiah Vagana (Vodafone Warriors)



Head coach: Ezra Howe

Assistant coaches: Moehewa Armstrong, Francis Meli

Head strength and conditioning coach: Donny Singe

Head trainer: Junior Mautairi

Physiotherapist: Simon Keepa

Manager: Jerry Seuseu

  • The game will be televised live on SKY Sport.
Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners