You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Suiting up in junior club socks tomorrow

Seven Auckland Rugby League clubs are set to be represented when the Vodafone Warriors play the Victoria Thunderbolts in tomorrow's Jersey Flegg Cup match at Mount Smart Stadium (12.45pm kick-off).

Each of the Vodafone Junior Warriors players will take the field wearing the socks of their junior club, recognising the strong link between ARL clubs and the Vodafone Warriors.

ARL chief executive Greg Whaiapu said it was important to acknowledge the role local clubs play in developing players who advance to higher levels.

"No matter where players go in their careers, or what levels they reach, they never forget the clubs they come from," Whaiapu said.

"It's important to recognise those clubs, and the people at those clubs, who play a key role in developing good players and people. 

"We also see this initiative as a great way of recognising the major role Auckland Rugby League clubs play in providing talent for the Vodafone Warriors at all levels.

"A big thanks goes to the Vodafone Warriors, and in particular Jersey Flegg team manager Jasen McCarthy, for making this happen." 

Vodafone Warriors CEO Cameron George said it was a fitting move as the club celebrates its 25th season.

"We're thrilled to join the Auckland Rugby League in making this happen, even more so in this our 25th season in existence," George said.

"Throughout our history we’ve had the strongest links with local clubs in creating pathways for young players to chase their dreams and this way we can demonstrate those ties." 

Pictured above (from left to right): Jyris Glamuzina (Ellerslie), Isaiah Vagana (Mount Albert), Brody Tamarua (Northcote), Harley Maynard (Point Chevalier), Sione Moala (Manurewa) and Richard To'ai (Otahuhu).



2 SELESTINO RAVUTAUMADA (Marist Brothers, Fiji; Rotorua Boys' High School)


4 KAYAL IRO (Arorangi, Cook Islands; Mount Albert)

5 HARLEY MAYNARD (Point Chevalier)

6 PAUL TURNER (Hikurangi Stags, Northland; Mount Albert)

7 SIONE MOALA (Manurewa)

8 JUNIOR PUA (Manurewa)

9 RICHARD TO’AI (Otahuhu)


11 ELIESA KATOA (Tupou College, Tonga; Tamaki College)

12 TOM ALE (Mount Albert)

13 BRODY TAMARUA (Muriwhenua, Northland; Northcote)


14 CASEY SMITH (Northcote)

16 ISAIAH VAGANA (Mount Albert)

17 JYRIS GLAMUZINA (Ellerslie)


Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners