You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

No joy for the Vodafone Warriors as they fell to a 14-30 loss to the Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs in today’s second-round Intrust Super Premiership encounter at Mount Smart Stadium.

The contest played out in similar fashion to the earlier Jersey Flegg Cup match between the two clubs.

In that game the Vodafone Junior Warriors were 10-4 up at halftime but finished up 10-28 losers.

And in the ISP match-up, the Vodafone Warriors were ahead 8-4 at the break only for the Dogs to come roaring back with 26 unanswered points to lead 30-8 inside the last 10 minutes.

There was some consolation for the home side, coming back well to engineer a lovely try for young fullback Hayze Perham, running onto a sweet short ball from standoff  Chanel Harris-Tavita.

The same duo combined in another slick set play in the first half, Jazz Tevaga feeding Harris-Tavita who shipped a wonderful inside pass to a flying Perham. 

Perham also caught the eye in the first half when he fielded a kick in his in-goal and scorched 50 metres upfield.

Early in the match left wing Lewis Soosemea, who scored a hat-trick against North Sydney last week, made it four in two games with a well-taken try wide out.

The second half, though, was another matter.

The Vodafone Warriors’ discipline was found wanting as they conceded a crippling penalty count giving the Dogs a mortgage on possession.

With a pack led by wily former Kiwi Greg Eastwood, the Bulldogs made the most of the ball, working their way into good field position and putting together four more tries.

The Vodafone Warriors couldn’t provide any answers but did hang in to finish the scoring with Perham’s second touchdown.

At Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland

Vodafone Warriors 14 (Hayze Perham 2, Lewis Soosemea tries; Mason Lino 2 conversions).

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs 30 (John Olive 2, Jack Nelson, Jayden Okunbor, Fa’amanu Brown tries; Rhyse Martin 3 conversions, 2 penalties).

Halftime: 8-4 Vodafone Warriors.

Referee: Todd Smith.

Vodafone Warriors | Hayze Perham; Lewis Soosemea, Joseph Vuna, Cole Waaka, Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad; Chanel Harris-Tavita, Mason Lino (c); Albert Vete, Jazz Tevaga, Agnatius Paasi; Matiu Love-Henry, James Bell (c); Chris Satae. Interchange: Manaia Cherrington, Patrick Sipley, Sione Afemui, Johnny Tuivasa-Sheck.

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners