You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Jersey Flegg revived for under-20 competition

The Jersey Flegg Cup is back in 2018 after a 10-year absence with the New South Wales Rugby League reviving the historic competition following the cessation of the NRL-run under-20 National Youth Competition.

The competition is named after Harry “Jersey” Flegg, who played for Eastern Suburbs in 1908 and 1909, and was a prominent administrator until 1960.

It began as an under-19s age group until the NRL formed in 1998 and was originally held as part of the NSWRL’s junior representative season played over nine-to-12 weeks early in the season.

“It’s fantastic to revive the Jersey Flegg in 2018 after a 10-year absence,” said NSWRL general manager of football Barrie-Jon Mather.

“There is now a stronger link between the junior and senior competitions with players from the SG Ball having the opportunity to play in the Jersey Flegg before making the jump to the Intrust Super Premiership NSW and beyond."


What is the Jersey Flegg Cup?

Quite simply, it is a rugby league competition played in New South Wales made up of players aged under-20 that effectively replaces the Holden Cup.


How many teams are playing in the Jersey Flegg?

The major difference to the old Holden Cup is that no Queensland or Victorian-based teams will play in the Jersey Flegg competition; 11 NSW clubs as well as the Vodafone Warriors have entered teams to make a 12-team competition in line with the Intrust Super Premiership NSW.


What teams are playing in the Jersey Flegg?

Ten of the 12 clubs will enter a team under their NRL brand, with only the South Sydney Rabbitohs (North Sydney Bears) and Canberra (Mounties) affiliating with their feeder club for the competition.


Newcastle Knights
Manly Sea Eagles
Wests Tigers
Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
Penrith Panthers
Parramatta Eels
North Sydney Bears
Cronulla Sharks
St George Illawarra Dragons
Vodafone Warriors
Sydney Roosters

When will the Jersey Flegg grand final be played?

The Jersey Flegg grand final will be played on the same day as the Intrust Super Premiership, Ron Massey Cup and Sydney Shield grand finals, one week prior to the NRL grand final.


How long are the halves in Jersey Flegg games?

Just like the SG Ball, Jersey Flegg matches consist of 35-minute halves to coincide with the Queensland Hastings Deering Colts under-20s competition.


What happened to the Holden Cup?

As part of the recent NRL-led pathway review, the Holden Cup was replaced by two state-run competitions in order to give more athletes an opportunity to progress to play at the highest level.


Who has won the most Jersey Flegg premierships?

The Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs are the most successful team in the history of Jersey Flegg, winning nine premierships since the competition commenced in 1961, and won four premierships from 1999-2003. However, the most dominant season in Jersey Flegg history came in 2004, when the Sydney Roosters won the competition without losing a single game.


Who won the most recent Jersey Flegg grand final?

Penrith won the most recent Jersey Flegg premiership in 2007, technically making them the reigning premiers in two NSWRL competitions as following their triumph in the Intrust Super Premiership NSW last year.


Is the competition being televised?

In 2018 FOX LEAGUE and Channel 9 are increasing their commitment to the NSWRL’s blue-ribbon competition, the Intrust Super Premiership NSW. At this stage there is no plan to telecast the Jersey Flegg competition but may live stream select matches throughout the season including the finals series.


Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners