You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
PNG captain Paul Aiton. Four Nations Rugby League. (PNG) Papua New Guinea Kumuls v England, Eden Park, Auckland, New Zealand. Saturday 6 November 2010. Photo: Simon Watts/

Ten members of the premiership-winning PNG Hunters have been named to represent the Papua New Guinea Kumuls at the 2017 Rugby League World Cup.

Included are the Boas bothers Ase and Watson along with Wartovo Puara, Wellington Albert, Willie Minoga, Stargroth Amean, Nixon Putt, Stanton Albert, Moses Meninga and Enock Maki.

Gary Lo returns to the national side along with Cronulla hooker James Segeyaro.

The captain is David Mead with Ase Boas as vice captain.

Papua New Guinea Rugby League chairman Sandis Tsaka Tsaka congratulated the selected players and urged them to play their best in front of the home crowd.

“Riding on the back of the successful PNG Hunters' season in the Queensland Intrust Super Cup, the support of our nation’s 8 million plus people will turn to the PNG Kumuls in the 2017 World Cup campaign," he said.

"With three home games, the expectations of our people is there for you to perform well. All we ask of you is to play every game with pride and passion. We will be right behind you."

The team leaves for Fiji next Wednesday (October 11) for the Tri Nations series against Australia and Fiji at the ANZ Stadium in Suva on October 14. The Kumuls return home on October 16 and have a few days off before going into camp on October 20.

They play their first gamer on October 28 against Wales. The second match is a week later on November 5 against Ireland and the final home pool game is against United States on November 12. All games will be played at the Oil Search National Football Stadium in Port Moresby.


Ase Boas (PNG Hunters)

David Mead (Brisbane Broncos)

Enock Maki (PNG Hunters)

Garry Lo (Sheffield Eagles)

James Segeyaro (Cronulla Sharks)

Justin Olam (Melbourne Storm)

Kato Ottio (Canberra Raiders)

Kurt Baptiste (Canberra Raiders)

Lachlan Lam (Sydney Roosters)

Luke Page (Burleigh Bears)

Moses Meninga (PNG Hunters)

Nene Macdonald (St George Illawarra Dragons)

Nixon Put (PNG Hunters)

Paul Aiton (Catalans Dragons)

Rhys Martin (Canterbury Bulldogs)

Rod Griffin (Canterbury Bulldogs)

Stanton Albert (PNG Hunters)

Stargroth Amean (PNG Hunters)

Thompson Teteh (Redcliffe Dolphins)

Wartovo Puara Jnr (PNG Hunters)

Wellington Albert (PNG Hunters)

Watson Boas (PNG Hunters)

Willie Minoga (PNG Hunters)

Head coach | Michael Marum 

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners