You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Six Vodafone Warriors, including the entire spine, have been named in the 20-man Kiwi squad for Friday night’s Anzac Test at GIO Stadium in Canberra.

After helping the Vodafone Warriors to their gritty 14-13 win over the Roosters yesterday, Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (11 Tests), Kieran Foran (20 Tests) and Simon Mannering (41 Tests) all return after last appearing for the Kiwis in 2015.

They join incumbents Shaun Johnson (20 Tests), Issac Luke (41 Tests) and David Fusitu’a (2 Tests).

Centre Solomone Kata, who played all five Tests in the Kiwis’ 2017 end of season campaign, was out of contention with the hamstring injury he picked up in the Vodafone Warriors’ Anzac Day encounter with Melbourne.

Two new faces were originally included in the squad last night – Melbourne prop Nelson Asofa-Solomona and hooker Brandon Smith - but Asofa-Solomona was ruled out today with a hand injury he suffered in the Storm's clash against St George Illawarra yesterday. He has been replaced by Wests Tigers back rower Elijah Taylor who played the most vrecent of his 10 Tests in 2013. 

Also making a return to the Kiwis is St George Illawarra prop Russell Packer, who hasn’t played in the black jumper since 2011.

Manu Ma’u was unavailable for selection due to injury.



GIO Stadium, Canberra

8.00pm, Friday, May 5

Adam Blair (Brisbane) 40 Tests

Jesse Bromwich (c) (Melbourne) 23 Tests

Kenny Bromwich (Melbourne) 1 Test

Kieran Foran (Vodafone Warriors) 20 Tests

David Fusitu’a (Vodafone Warriors) 2 Tests

Shaun Johnson (Vodafone Warriors) 20 Tests

Jordan Kahu (Brisbane) 8 Tests

Issac Luke (Vodafone Warriors) 41 Tests

Simon Mannering (Vodafone Warriors) 41 Tests

Kodi Nikorima (Brisbane) 4 Tests

Russell Packer (St George Illawarra) 2 Tests

Kevin Proctor (Gold Coast) 16 Tests

Jordan Rapana (Canberra) 4 Tests

Brandon Smith (Melbourne) 0 Tests

Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland) 9 Tests

Martin Taupau (Manly) 15 Tests

Elijah Taylor (Wests Tigers) 10 Tests

Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Vodafone Warriors) 11 Tests

Dallin Watene-Zelezniak (Penrith) 2 Tests

Dean Whare (Penrith) 15 Tests

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners