You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Vodafone Warriors wing David Fusitu'a will join four 2016 club-mates in the Kiwis' Four Nations clash against Scotland on Saturday morning. Image |

Vodafone Warriors wing David Fusitu'a is among four players named to make their Kiwi international debuts in New Zealand's Four Nations clash against Scotland in Workington (9.00am, Saturday, NZT).

Fusitu'a (22), who has played at Test level for Mate Ma'a Tonga, has been selected on the right wing replacing Canberra's Jordan Rapana.

The other three first-time Kiwis have been named on the bench - Penrith half Te Maire Martin (21), his club-mate James Fisher-Harris (20) - who plays second row or prop - and Canberra back rower Joseph Tapine (22).

One-test Kiwi Dallin Watene-Zelezniak (21) has been named at fullback in place of Jordan Kahu.

Fusitu'a becomes Kiwi #799 while the first of the three new faces on the bench to take the field will be Kiwi #800.

The New Zealand team has moved camp to Carlisle ahead of the game at Workington's Derwent Park (now known as Zebra Claims Stadium).

With this line-up, all 24 members of the touring squad will have played during the Four Nations tournament.

“It’s an exciting opportunity for these young players," said head coach David Kidwell.

"They are hungry, their effort and attitude in training has shown me that, and they’ll bring a lot of energy.” 

After the 8-14 loss to Australia last Sunday, it's must-win game if the Kiwis are to stay on track to make the final.

“The most important thing right now is we need to win. Scotland started really well against England and we need to respect that," said Kidwell.

"They have improved every game and if you add that on top of the conditions, we have a tough challenge ahead.

“The guys making their debuts deserve the opportunity to play. They have worked extremely hard and have been pushing for spots all tour.”

Veteran Jason Nightingale returns to the team after missing last week’s encounter.

Manu Ma’u and Greg Eastwood come into the starting team replacing Kevin Proctor and Jason Taumalolo, while Gerard Beale shifts to centre in place of Shaun Kenny-Dowall. 


Zebra Claims Stadium, Workington

Friday, November 11, 8.00m (Saturday, November 12, 9.00 NZT)




2 JASON NIGHTINGALE (St George Illawarra)

3 SOLOMONE KATA (Vodafone Warriors)

4 GERARD BEALE (Cronulla)

5 DAVID FUSITU'A (Vodafone Warriors)

6 THOMAS LEULUAI (Vodafone Warriors)

7 SHAUN JOHNSON (Vodafone Warriors)

8 JESSE BROMWICH (Melbourne) captain

9 ISSAC LUKE (Vodafone Warriors)

10 ADAM BLAIR (Brisbane)

11 MANU MA'U (Parramatta)

12 TOHU HARRIS (Melbourne)

13 GREG EASTWOOD (Canterbury Bankstown)


14 TE MAIRE MARTIN (Penrith)



17 JOSEPH TAPINE (Canberra)

18 LEWIS BROWN (Manly)

19 JORDAN RAPANA (Canberra)


Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners