You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Vodafone Warriors NRL Player of the Year, Simon Mannering and partner Anna. Vodafone Warriors Awards 2016. NRL Rugby League. Shed 10, Auckland, New Zealand. Tuesday 13 September 2016. © Copyright Photo: Andrew Cornaga /

Tireless back rower Simon Mannering has been named the Vodafone NRL Player of the Year a record fifth time in his 12-season career at the Vodafone Warriors’ 22nd annual awards dinner in Auckland tonight.

The 30-year-old is the only player in the club’s history to win the premier award more than twice, Steve Price earning the accolade in 2006 and 2007 and Ben Matulino honoured in 2012 and 2015.

The other finalists tonight were halfback Shaun Johnson, departing standoff Thomas Leuluai and second rower Bodene Thompson.

Mannering was first singled out early in his career in 2008 before earning the supreme acknowledgement again in 2011, 2013 and 2014 while he was a leading contender every other season as well, such is his consistency.

On a big night personally he was also named the winner of the Canterbury of New Zealand Clubman of the Year Award in recognition of his all-round contribution to the club, not just on the field but off it in the community and in the way he represents the club’s values.

On the field the relentless Mannering played in 22 of the 24 games, finishing with five tries to lift his career tally to 58, fourth on the club’s all-time list. He averaged 77 minutes on the field making an average 11.2 runs, 89.95 metres and 47.36 tackles a game. It’s the second straight season he has topped 1000 tackles.

The award topped a campaign in which Mannering became only the second player after the great Stacey Jones to play 250 NRL games for the club. He finished the year on 258 matches and needs just four more games next season to move beyond Jones’ record of 261.

While Mannering collected two of the main NRL awards, the Vodafone NRL Rookie of the Year was between Nathaniel Roache (Vodafone Warrior #207) and Jazz Tevaga (Vodafone Warrior #209), the only two players who qualified in terms of games played this year. They both made 11 appearances each with Roache – 19 at the time of his debut in round one – getting the nod.

Johnson, the only player to appear in all 24 games, was again voted the winner of the Vodafone People’s Choice Award after a season in which he scored 10 tries and 125 points in all to lift his career total to 667, only eight short of beating another Jones record (674).

The finalists for the Vodafone ISP Player of the Year were Ata Hingano, Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad and John Palavi. First-year Vodafone Warrior Nicoll-Klokstad was the winner after a season in which he was the only player to appear in each of the side’s 24 games. Used at fullback, on the wing, in the centres and also standoff initially he was the team’s top try-scorer with 11.

The Vodafone ISP Team Man of the Year went to James Bell.

Three people were acknowledged for their contributions off the field.

Susan Turner, who has worked for the club since 1995, won the newly-introduced Club Person of the Year award while Emma Harper was named the Sir Peter Leitch Member of the Year.

RadioSport commentator Allen McLaughlin was a popular recipient of the SKYCITY Legacy Award. The 66-year-old ‘voice of rugby league’ called his last Vodafone Warriors game at Mount Smart Stadium on September 4 after covering all but one of the club’s 254 games at the venue since 1995.



Sir Peter Leitch Member of the Year                   Emma Harper

SKYCITY Legacy Award                                      Allen McLaughlin

Vodafone People’s Choice Award                        Shaun Johnson

TNT NYC Rookie of the Year                               Chanel Harris-Tavita

Vodafone ISP Team Man of the Year                  James Bell

Vodafone NRL Rookie of the Year                       Nathaniel Roache

Club Person of the Year                                     Susan Turner

Canterbury of NZ Club Person of the Year          Simon Mannering

Vodafone NYC Player of the Year                        Chris Sio

Vodafone ISP Player of the Year                         Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad

Vodafone NRL Player of the Year                        Simon Mannering



1995 Tea Ropati

1996 Stephen Kearney

1997 Stacey Jones

1998 Joe Vagana

1999 Jason Death

2000 Robert Mears

2001 Jerry Seuseu

2002 Ali Lauitiiti

2003 Francis Meli

2004 Wairangi Koopu

2005 Ruben Wiki

2006 Steve Price

2007 Steve Price

2008 Simon Mannering

2009 Micheal Luck

2010 Manu Vatuvei

2011 Simon Mannering

2012 Ben Matulino

2013 Simon Mannering

2014 Simon Mannering

2015 Ben Matulino

2016 Simon Mannering



Departing players | Henare Wells, Shaun Lane (#211), Jeff Robson (#205), Raymond Faitala-Mariner (#200), Jonathan Wright (#198), John Palavi (#188), Ben Henry (#173), Konrad Hurrell (#172), Sione Lousi (#159), Thomas Leuluai (#105), Ali Lauitiiti (#55).

NRL debuts | Nathaniel Roache (#207), Jazz Tevaga (#209), Toafofoa Sipley (#212), Bunty Afoa (#213), Ata Hingano (#214).

Vodafone Warriors debuts | Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (#203), Blake Ayshford (#204), Jeff Robson (#205), Issac Luke (#206), Nathaniel Roache (#207), James Gavet (#208), Jazz Tevaga (#209), Ligi Sao (#210), Shaun Lane (#211), Toafofoa Sipley (#212), Bunty Afoa (#213), Ata Hingano (#214).


150 NRL tries | Manu Vatuvei.

600 NRL points | Shaun Johnson.

250 NRL games (all for Vodafone Warriors) | Simon Mannering.

200 NRL games | Issac Luke.

150 NRL games for Vodafone Warriors | Jacob Lillyman.

50 NRL games | Sione Lousi.

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners