You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Players from the Vodafone Warriors' New South Wales Cup squad and the New Zealand Maori Invitation team after their clash in Glen Eden on Sunday

Players from throughout the Vodafone Warriors' system were all on show at the second annual Luke Tipene Celebration Day at Harold Moody Reserve in Glen Eden today.

It started with the club's academy side facing the Glenora 18s in the Luke Tipene memorial match before the Vodafone Junior Warriors met a Vodafone Warriors selection (comprising both NYC and New South Wales Cup players) before finishing with an encounter between the club's New South Wales Cup squad and a New Zealand Maori Invitation XIII.

Among those in the NSW Cup line-up today were 2016 NRL squad members Ken Maumalo, Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad and Upu Poching along with another 13 players who are either former or current NYC players.

In the final game the Stacey Jones-coached Vodafone Warriors had a commanding 46-4 lead with 20 minutes to go but the Maori finished well with three tries to go down 20-46. The highlight of the contest was the four tries scored by Vodafone Warriors centre Semisi Tyrell - a hat-trick in the first half - while he also kicked five conversions for 26 points.

In the previous match the Kelvin Wright-coached Vodafone Junior Warriors split their points harvest with 30 in the first half and 32 in the second, halfback Zion Ioka also providing 26 points from three tries and seven conversions in the 62-10 win.

In the second match on the programme the Vodafone Warriors 18s lost 14-24 to Glenora.

The day was again a huge success with a big crowd turning up for the community event which commemorates promising young Glenora and Vodafone Warriors forward Luke Tipene, who died in 2014. Proceeds from the day go to the Luke Tipene Trust Fund to assist aspiring youth between the ages of 13-18 years in their chosen field of academics, sports, culture and the arts to help support them in ahcieing greatness. 


Glenora 18s v Vodafone Warriors 18s

Glenora 18s 24 (Cohen Vasey, Glen Afereti, Fuaao Tuala, Solomon Vasuvulagi, Quest Campbell-Burningham tries; Emmanuel Gerrard-Tuimavave 2 conversions).

Vodafone Warriors 14 (Elijah Sufia, Mark Graham, Eiden Ackland tries; Cameron Iopu conversion).

Halftime: 10-4 Vodafone Warriors.

Vodafone Warriors 18s: Caleb Trask; Mark Graham, Sebastian Rapana, Preston Riki, Elijah Sufia; Chanel Harris-Tavita, Eiden Ackland; Wiremu Ryan, Meinata Heimana, Roimia Roi; Cameron Iopu,  Nathan Newton; Javvier Pitovao. Interchange: Dylan Tavita, Israel Ogden, Michael Lemafa, Nitoa Kairau, John Latu, Aitasi James, Thomas Anderson, Heremaia Murray, Alfred Smalley.

Coach: Duane Mann.


Vodafone Warriors Selection v Vodafone Junior Warriors

Vodafone Junior Warriors 62 (Zion Ioka 3, Lewis Soosemea 2, Junior Pauga 2, Kane Telea, Levi McBirney, Sheldon Pitama, Joseph Vuna, Mose Esera tries; Zion Ioka 7 conversions).

Vodafone Warriors Selection 10 (Pat Sipley 2 tries; Reece Joyce conversion).

Halftime: 30-10 Vodafone Junior Warriors.

Vodafone Junior Warriors: Kane Telea; Lewis Soosemea, Levi McBirney, Isaiah Papalii, Alfred Smalley; Chris Sio, Zion Ioka; Mattais Heimuli, Sheldon Pitama, Keanu Dawson; Ofahiki Ogden, Kenese Kenese; Joseph Vuna. Interchange: Mose Esera, Jerome Mamea, Tualima Tualima, Eddie Wulf, Junior Pauga, AJ Murray, Jack Akiono.

Coach: Kelvin Wright.

Vodafone Warriors Selection: Reece Joyce: Corey Seator, Koli Oneone, James Mafi, Auzzie Tuwhangai; Arthur Crichton, Eko Malo; Chris Satae, Jarel HemeHema, Noah Vanisi; Daniel Liddicoat, Joseph Price; Scott Tofa-Timoteo. Interchange: Filipo Fahiua, Preston Riki, James Leavai, Shane Hannam, Pat Sipley, Romia Roy, Mark Graham.

Coach: Grant Pocklington.


Vodafone Warriors (New South Wales Cup) v New Zealand Maori Invitation XIII

Vodafone Warriors 46 (Semisi Tyrell 4, Tomas Aoake, Viliami Kaveinga, Jazz Tevaga, Pat Sipley, Daniel Palavi tries; Semisi Tyrell 5 conversions).

New Zealand Maori Invitation 20 (Manaia Osborne, Haydeen Lewis, Dana Ratu, Malcolm Noda tries; Willie Stowers 2 conversions).

Halftime: 20-4 Vodafone Warriors.

Vodafone Warriors: Tomas Aoake; Viliami Kaveinga, Semisi Tyrell, Semisi Fotu, Ken Maumalo; Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad, Erin Clark; Upu Poching, Jazz Tevaga, Paul Tuli; Bunty Afoa, Marata Niukore; James Bell. Interchange: Sheldon Pitama, Ofahiki Ogden, Pat Sipley, Daniel Palavi, Junior Pauga.

Coach: Stacey Jones.

New Zealand Maori Invitation: Matiu Stone-Dunn; Teina Ngahiwi, Dillon Rota, George Edwards, Malcolm Noda; Willie Stowers, Manaia Osborne; Haydeen Lewis, Jethro Friend, Gary-John Hape; Taylor Daniels,Dion Snell; Te Ariki Peneha. Interchange: Koroheke Moana-Taniwha, Darren Kingi, Matti Tuitama, Tamihana Morunga; Dana Ratu, Tony Tuia, Nick Read.

Coach: Neville Rogers.  

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners