You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Vodafone Warrior Nathan Friend’s outrageous airborne backflip-between-the-legs try assist against Melbourne was last night voted the headline moment of the year at the 2015 Dally M Awards in Sydney.

Friend received the Peter Frilingos Headline Moment Award, named in honour of the late former Daily Telegraph rugby league journalist.

Among the other winners was Vodafone Warriors-bound Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, who was named the Dally M Fullback of the Year after his outstanding season for the Sydney Roosters.

Vodafone Warriors utility Tuimoala Lolohea was in contention for the Dally M Rookie of the Year but the title went to Cronulla’s Jack Bird.

Dominating the awards was North Queensland halfback and co-captain Johnathan Thurston, named Dally M Player of the Year award for an unprecedented fourth time.

Thurston polled 32 points, beating Michael Ennis, Aaron Woods and Benji Marshall (21 points) to the prestigious Medal.

In doing so, Thurston became the first ever player to win four Dally M Player of the Year awards.

Thurston also won his second consecutive Dally M Player of the Year award, following his joint award with Jarryd Hayne in 2014, as well as his sole Medals in 2005 and 2007.

Thurston accepted his fourth award in a special ceremony in Townsville, where he is preparing for the 2015 NRL Telstra Premiership grand final on Sunday against Brisbane Broncos at ANZ Stadium.

On a remarkable night for the playmaker, Thurston was also given the Captain of the Year award (joint with Cowboys co-captain Matt Scott), the Halfback of the Year award, as well as the Provan Summons People’s Choice Medal.

The Cowboys’ opponents in Sunday’s historic all-Queensland grand final, Brisbane Broncos, also had a successful night. Wayne Bennett earned the Coach of the Year award as he attempts to win an eighth premiership, while Corey Parker won the Best Representative Player award during the glittering awards night at venue partner The Star.

Gold Coast’s Luke Douglas was awarded the Ken Stephen Medal at a glittering event at The Star in Sydney.

Jenni-Sue Hoepper took out the inaugural Female Player of the Year award.


Dally M Player of the Year: Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)

Captain of the Year: Johnathan Thurston/Matt Scott (North Queensland Cowboys)

Coach of the Year: Wayne Bennett (Brisbane Broncos)

Peter Moore Award for Rookie of the Year: Jack Bird (Cronulla Sharks)

Best Representative Player: Corey Parker (Brisbane Broncos)

Fullback of the Year: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Sydney Roosters)

Winger of the Year: Semi Radradra (Parramatta Eels)

Centre of the Year: James Roberts (Gold Coast Titans)

Standoff of the Year: Blake Austin (Canberra Raiders)

Halfback of the Year: Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)

Looser Forward of the Year: Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland Cowboys)

Second Rower of the Year: Josh Jackson (Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs)

Prop of the Year: Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)

Hooker of the Year: Michael Ennis (Cronulla Sharks)

Top Points Scorer: Jarrod Croker (Canberra Raiders)

Top Try Scorer: Semi Radradra (Parramatta Eels)

Provan Summons People’s Choice Medal: Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)

Holden Cup Player of the Year: Ashley Taylor (Brisane Broncos)

Female Player of the Year: Jenni-Sue Hoepper

Peter Frilingos Headline Moment: Nathan Friend (Warriors)

Ken Stephen Medal: Luke Douglas (Gold Coast Titans)


Dally M Medal | Roll of Honour Roll

2015: Johnathan Thurston (North Qld Cowboys)

2014: Johnathan Thurston (North Qld Cowboys) and Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta Eels)

2013: Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm)

2012: Ben Barba (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)

2011: Billy Slater (Melbourne Storm)

2010: Todd Carney (Sydney Roosters)

2009: Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta Eels)

2008: Matt Orford (Manly Sea Eagles)

2007: Johnathan Thurston (North Qld Cowboys)

2006: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)

2005: Johnathan Thurston (North Qld Cowboys)

2004: Danny Buderus (Newcastle Knights)

2003: Not awarded

2002: Andrew Johns (Newcastle Knights)

2001: Preston Campbell (Cronulla Sharks)

2000: Trent Barrett (St George Illawarra Dragons)

1999: Andrew Johns (Newcastle Knights)

1998: Andrew Johns (Newcastle Knights)

1997: Not awarded

1996: Allan Langer (Brisbane Broncos)

1995: Laurie Daley (Canberra Raiders)

1994: Cliff Lyons (Manly Sea Eagles)

1993: Ricky Stuart (Canberra Raiders)

1992: Gary Freeman (Eastern Suburbs Roosters)

1991: Michael Potter (St George Dragons)

1990: Cliff Lyons (Manly Sea Eagles)

1989: Gavin Miller (Cronulla Sharks)

1988: Gavin Miller (Cronulla Sharks)

1987: Peter Sterling (Parramatta Eels)

1986: Peter Sterling (Parramatta Eels)

1985: Greg Alexander (Penrith Panthers)

1984: Michael Potter (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)

1983: Terry Lamb (Western Suburbs Magpies)

1982: Ray Price (Parramatta Eels)

1981: Steve Rogers (Cronulla Sharks)

1980: Robert Laurie (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners