You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Despite making the NYC finals for a record eighth consecutive season, the Vodafone Junior Warriors have missed out on having a player named in the NYC Team of the Year for the first time in the competition's history.

In the first seven years of the competition the Vodafone Junior Warriors – NYC premiers in 2010, 2011 and 2014 – had at least one player included in the team of the year with 2015 rookie NRL prop Sam Lisone named last year.

The seventh-ranked Vodafone Junior Warriors started their 2015 finals campaign with a 32-22 win over the sixth-placed Sydney Roosters at Allianz Stadium on Friday night, their 16th win in 21 finals matches.

This year’s team is dominated by players from the North Queensland and Brisbane sides. The Vodafone Junior Warriors face the Broncos in a sudden-death semi-final in Townsville on Friday night.

Tom Trbojevic (Sea Eagles), Ashley Taylor (Broncos), Te Maire Martin (Wests Tigers), Gideon Mosby (Cowboys) and Latrell Mitchell (Sydney Roosters) are among the players named in the team of the year today.

This year’s team joins an honour roll that includes some of the NRL’s most talented stars, including Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Valentine Holmes, Daly-Cherry Evans, Ben Barba, Kieran Foran, Marika Koroibete, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves, Ben Matulino, Dane Gagai, Jesse Bromwich, Jason Taumololo, Shaun Fensom, Tariq Sims, Gareth Widdop, Ben Hunt, Trent Merrin, David Klemmer, Dylan Napa, James Segeyaro, Konrad Hurrell, Luke Brooks and Bryce Cartwright.

“The Holden Cup Team of the Year is a virtual preview of the stars of the future in the NRL,” said NRL head of football Todd Greenberg.

“When you look through the list of players who have made this team in the past it reads like a ‘who’s who’ of the game.”

All players were presented with a $1000 education grant at today’s announcement.

New Zealanders Te Maire Martin (Wests Tigers) and Danny Levi (Newcastle) joined a select group to be named in the team of the year in consecutive years.


Fullback | Tom Trbojevic (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles)

Wing | Gideon Mosby (North Queensland Cowboys)

Centre | Jordan Drew (Brisbane Broncos)

Centre | Addison Demetriou (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles)

Wing | Joseph Manu (Sydney Roosters)

Standoff | Te Maire Martin (Wests Tigers)

Halfback | Ashley Taylor (Brisbane Broncos)

Prop | Viliame Kikau (North Queensland Cowboys)

Hooker | Jayden Berrell (Brisbane Broncos)

Prop | Joe Ofahengaue (Brisbane Broncos)

Second Row | Coen Hess (North Queensland Cowboys)

Second Row | Tevita Pangai (Canberra Raiders)

Loose Forward | Jai Arrow (Brisbane Broncos)

Interchange | Latrell Mitchell (Sydney Roosters)

Interchange | Brent Naden (Penrith Panthers)

Interchange | Jayden Nikorima (Brisbane Broncos)

Interchange | Danny Levi (Newcastle Knights)

Coach | Cameron Ciraldo (Penrith Panthers)

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners