You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Vodafone Warriors head coach Andrew McFadden will have all of the club’s most experienced players in action in tomorrow’s final preseason hit-out in Papakura ahead of the 2015 season.

The inter-squad clash between an NRL line-up and a New South Wales Cup selection (3.00pm kick-off) is the feature attraction of a Vodafone Warriors community carnival being held at Bruce Pulman Park.

There’ll be another trial at 12.30pm between the Vodafone Junior Warriors and a Vodafone Warriors Selection.

Earlier in the week McFadden confirmed captain Simon Mannering, Jacob Lillyman and Konrad Hurrell would see action for the first time in the club’s preseason campaign.

They’ll join seasoned performers Sam Tomkins, Manu Vatuvei, Shaun Johnson, Sam Rapira, Ben Matulino, Thomas Leuluai, Nathan Friend, Ryan Hoffman, Bodene Thompson and Jonathan Wright in the trial.

Some Vodafone Junior Warriors will also be added to the squads after being involved in the early match.

While the line-ups are yet to be revealed, McFadden said he will field a full-strength side in the hit-out.

There’s bound to be some banter between the coaches with McFadden teaming up with Andrew Webster to guide the NRL side while Tony Iro and Stacey Jones are taking the NSW Cup team.

NRL referees Adam Devcich and Gavin Reynolds will control the main trial.



Saturday, February 21

Bruce Pulman Park

138 Walters Road


  • Entry is via 138 Walters Road, Papakura
  • Counties-Manukau Rugby League volunteers will be collecting gold coin donations upon entry
  • Volunteers will assist with parking
  • Activities for children
  • Local R&B singer Jae’O will perform
  • No alcohol served or permitted



Teams from | Bradley Abbey, Matthew Allwood, David Bhana, Sam Cook, Ray Faitala-Mariner, Nathan Friend, Ben Henry, Ryan Hoffman, Konrad Hurrell, Shaun Johnson, Solomone Kata, Viliami Kaveinga, Thomas Leuluai, Jacob Lillyman, Sam Lisone, Tuimoala Lolohea, Sione Lousi, Simon Mannering, Suaia Matagi, Ben Matulino, Ken Maumalo, John Palavi, Nathaniel Peteru, Api Pewhairangi, Dominque Peyroux, Sam Rapira, Bodene Thompson, Sam Tomkins, Chad Townsend, Manu Vatuvei, Albert Vete, Jonathan Wright.

Injured | Glen Fisiiahi, David Fusitu’a, Charlie Gubb, Siliva Havili, Sebastine Ikahihifo, Ngani Laumape, Mason Lino. 

Coaches | NRL: Andrew McFadden, Andrew Webster. NSW Cup: Tony Iro, Stacey Jones.

Referees | Adam Devcich and Gavin Reynolds.



Vodafone Junior Warriors | Tomasi Aoake; Wesley Tauti, Semisi Tyrell, Marata Niukore, Isaiah Cooper-Tetevano; Ata Hingano, Erin Clark; Bunty Afoa, Nathaniel Roache, Toafofoa Sipley; Ofahiki Ogden, Matiu Love-Henry; Jazz Tevaga. Interchange: Tamati Ioane-Niko, Paul Tuli, Tualima Tualima, Sheldon Pitama, Kauri Aupouri-Puketapu, Mikaere Beattie, Levi McBirney, Roman Tuhimata.

Coach: Kelvin Wright.

Vodafone Warriors Selection | Lewis Soosemea; Jarrod Tua, Willie Peace, Zac Chong Nee, John Ogden; Jonathan Carl, Ray Talimalie; Herman Retzlaff, Manu Weepu, Daniel Palavi; Stedman Leafau, Sione Feao; James Bell. Interchange: Mike Ki, Amoni Tufui, Mattais Heimuli, Paki Afu, Joseph Price, Salofa Silipa, Marlon Purcell, Pierre Pili, Paea Manukia, Chris Sio.

Coach: Willie Swann.

Referee: Aaron Donald.

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners