You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Vodafone Warriors head coach Andrew McFadden is set to reveal the club’s preliminary squad tomorrow for the second Dick Smith NRL Auckland Nines at Eden Park on January 31 and February 1.

McFadden has indicated he will name a wider group of up to 22 players before trimming it to the final 18 late next week. The squad size has been boosted from 16 to 18 players for this year's tournament.

Clubs are required to include at least one marquee player and 12 of the top 25.

Shaun Johnson captained the Vodafone Warriors last year with the side also including major new signing Sam Tomkins as well as Konrad Hurrell, Sione Lousi and Glen Fisiiahi and a number of young players, among them Tuimoala Lolohea, David Fusitu’a and Solomone Kata.

The Vodafone Warriors stormed through their pool matches beating Canberra 25-14, Manly 27-4 and North Queensland 28-23. They edged South Sydney 17-16 but were eliminated by the Cowboys 8-0 in the semi-finals (the Cowboys going on to win the final).

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners