You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Thomas Leuluai at a Kiwis Training Session, Four Nations Rugby League, Glenfield, Auckland, New Zealand, Tuesday, October 28, 2014. Photo: David Rowland/Photosport

Vodafone Warriors utility Thomas Leuluai comes back into the Kiwis’ line-up for their third Four Nations clash against England at Forsyth Barr Stadium in Dunedin on Saturday (8.00pm kick-off).

With first-choice hooker Issac Luke returning last week, the 29-year-old Leuluai has been named on the bench for his 33rd international giving the Kiwis cover at dummy half and the halves.

Leuluai provided slick dummy half service to lay the foundation for a dominant display by the Kiwi forwards in the 30-12 win over Australia on October 25. He backed it up with potent defence but was omitted for the clash against Toa Samoa.

Also back on the bench after impressing against the Kangaroos is forward Greg Eastwood. In 41 minutes on the field in that match Eastwood made 125 metres from 13 runs. He replaces Vodafone Warriors prop Suaia Matagi, who made his Kiwi Test debut in Whangarei last week.

Leuluai’s return results in the energetic Lewis Brown being chosen as 18th man against England.

While coach Stephen Kearney has made two changes on the bench he has retained the same starting line-up used in the tight 14-12 victory over Toa Samoa last weekend.

That means Vodafone Warriors winger Manu Vatuvei stays on the left wing after his outstanding display in his first outing of the tournament last week (195 metres from 16 runs with nine tackle breaks.

Vatuvei and Luke apart, the other 11 players in the run-on side will be starting for the third consecutive week as will Martin Taupau and Tohu Harris on the bench.

England’s Phil Bentham has been appointed to referee the match.


New Zealand | 1 Peta Hiku; 2 Jason Nightingale, 3 Shaun Kenny-Dowall, 4 Dean Whare, 5 Manu Vatuvei; 6 Kieran Foran, 7 Shaun Johnson; 8 Jesse Bromwich, 9 Issac Luke, 10 Adam Blair; 11 Simon Mannering (c), 12 Kevin Proctor; 13 Jason Taumalolo. Interchange: 14 Thomas Leuluai, 15 Greg Eastwood, 16 Martin Taupau, 17 Tohu Harris, 18 Lewis Brown.


1-Peta Hiku


2-Jason Nightingale


3-Shaun Kenny-Dowall 


4-Dean Whare



5-Manu Vatuvei


6-Kieran Foran


7-Shaun Johnson


8-Jesse Bromwich


9-Issac Luke


10-Adam Blair


11-Simon Mannering (captain)


12-Kevin Proctor


13-Jason Taumalolo


14-Thomas Leuluai



15-Greg Eastwood



16-Martin Taupau


17-Tohu Harris


18-Lewis Brown

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners